Watch the intro video!
Image_8de8a0b2f
November 2014
SMTWTFS
2627282930311
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30123456

Age
28

Sex
Female

Relationship Status
Committed Relationship

Location
Denmark (Europe)

Work/School

Links


143 friends > See all
What's this?

Fan of 63 items > See all
Image_79db3f931
The Orphanage
#1 Movie of All-Time
Tucker and Dale vs Evil
#1 Comedy
Pirates Of The Caribbean (1-4)
#1 Action
Jurassic Park
#1 Sci-Fi
The Orphanage
#1 Horror
Pride and Prejudice
#1 Romance
Beauty and the Beast
#1 Animated
Pan's Labyrinth
#1 Fantasy
Clueless
#1 Romantic Comedy
Johnny Depp
#1 Actor
Judi Dench
#1 Actress
Guillermo del Toro
#1 Director
Andy Whitfield
#1 Hottie
... View the rest.
Laylina
Offline
Badge_07
Cya next monday. May the force be with you MFC.
TOTAL POSTS
249 Posts
Junior Schmoe
View all reviews
Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Don't Be Afraid of the Dark



Dont-be-afraid-of-dark-poster2

Directed by: Troy Nixey
Written by: Matthew Robbins, Guillermo del Toro
Cast: Katie Holmes, Guy Pearce, Bailee Madison, Jack Thompson
Studio: FilmDistrict
Genre: Horror, Thriller
Official Site: www.dontbeafraidofthedark.com
Plot: A young girl sent to live with her father and his new girlfriend discovers creatures in her new home who want to claim her as one of their own. (From IMDb)

Review:

So yet another Del Toro style horror. This one i thought had a lot of similarities with Pan's Labyrinth and The Orphanage. The same style and form, where creepy and weird is being used to scare, over intense blood and gore.
I havent seen the original, so i dont know if that one had the same unnatural and sort of fairytale feel to it, but the passion for the genre shows in every frame.

The star of this film is definitely Bailee Madison as Sally. Very impressive work for an actress in her age range. In general i think every actor is so well chosen for their characters. I wouldnt want to see it any different.

The only bad thing i have to say about Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark, is that i wish they would have spent more time filling some of the plot holes. Theres not many, but i felt a little unsatisfied at the end.

Don_t_be_afraid_of_the_dark_movie_stills-2

Other reviews of this film: Strider (4/10) , MattSlash (6/10) > Display all
topher90
topher90 at 01:52 AM Feb 11

Not to be rude but you know Del Toro didn't direct this right?

Anakin
Anakin at 03:52 AM Feb 11

Nice review Laylina. I was on the fence with this one but I will check it out.

Laylina
Laylina at 05:39 AM Feb 11

@topher90, i had a feeling someone was going to comment saying that. Yes i do know.
Just like hes most likely not going to direct his own books when theyre getting Hollywood infected. Yet he still wrote them, and they sprung from his crazed mind (with a little help).

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Cowboys & Aliens



Cowboys-aliens-poster

Directed by: Jon Favreau
Written by: Damon Lindelof, Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman
Cast: Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, Olivia Wilde, Sam Rockwell, Noah Ringer
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Science-Fiction, Western
Official Site: www.cowboysandaliensmovie.com
Plot: A spaceship arrives in Arizona, 1873, to take over the Earth, starting with the Wild West region. A posse of cowboys and natives are all that stand in their way. (From IMDb)

Review:

I, surprisingly, found this film to be really entertaining. The acting was pretty good, but not great.
Great actors like Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford pulled the whole thing, and i actually think this could be considered Daniel Craig's best performance to date (yes, im normally not a fan of the shorty with zhe big earz), id definitely want to see him in more westerns, because lets face it - hes a dirty dirty man, and James Bond?.. no, not really.
But as good as those two might be, i also had to suck up two very boring and uninteresting performances from both Noah Ringer and Olivia Wilde... they didnt even want to try. So the whole thing became more or less "meh" whenever they took up too much screen time.

I find some reviews of this film to be a little too harsh. It wasent all that bad, and its a film i will be coming back to.

Cowboys_and_aliens0002

Other reviews of this film: JoBlo (7/10) , cerealkiller182 (7/10) > Display all
sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 08:02 AM Jan 24

Im going too rent this movie from Netflix.

Mr.Blizzo
Mr.Blizzo at 02:19 PM Jan 24

Very fun movie!

horrorfan23
horrorfan23 at 05:04 PM Jan 26

Had fun with this one.

Read all 5 comments >>

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Captain America: The First Avenger



Captain-america-poster-2

Directed by: Joe Johnston
Written by: Christopher Markus
Cast: Chris Evans, Hugo Weaving, Sebastian Stan, Hayley Altwell, Toby Jones
Studio: Paramount Pictures
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comic Book, War
Official Site: captainamerica.marvel.com
Plot: After being deemed unfit for military service, Steve Rogers volunteers for a top secret research project that turns him into Captain America, a superhero dedicated to defending the USA's ideals. (From IMDb)

Review:

Im not really sure how to rate this film, and think maybe it would be easier to split it up in two, and somehow land in between the two different ratings.

First half, the make of Captain America. What made me want to watch this (being a superhero movie and all) - it took place in the 40's, so i thought to myself "must have super cool settings and no stupid over the top weapons or explosion after explosion." So maybe that wasent the case, but lets start at the beginning.
Watching Captain Amazing fight for himself as a little guy, and following him on his journey really did it for me. If i were to stop the film right there, it could easily get an 8/10.

The second half begun. Here he goes all what-the-fuck-He-man on everyone, and from being Mr. Puny computer animated wimp, to the all mighty Mr. Flame On... wrong film? Oh.
So what happens? He starts tossing his shield around, flickering his muscles and wards off every bullet shot at him... yeah right.
It got EXTREMELY boring in the second half, running around between bullets and explosions, saving people from a whole Nazi army, oh and going after the bad guy with the jello head. Seen it, done it, got the bloody t-shirt. 4/10.

Best two hour commercial for the military since Top Gun.

Film_captain_america_13_photos

Other reviews of this film: Derek237 (8/10) , Anakin (8/10) > Display all
brianandmichelle
brianandmichelle at 02:26 PM Jan 22

I don't write reviews because sooner or later it's all been said. What I would have said about this movie, you just said it all right here. I felt the same exact way. I thought it and Thor were... by the numbers "fine". That's it. Nothing more. Great review!

sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 03:23 PM Jan 22

Good Movie.

sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 03:23 PM Jan 22

Double Post.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

The Ward



The-ward-international-poster2

Directed by: John Carpenter
Written by: Michael Rasmussen, Shawn Rasmussen
Cast: Lyndsy Fonseca, Amber Heard, Danielle Panabaker, Jared Harris
Studio: ARC Entertainment
Genre: Horror, Thriller
Official Site: www.thewardmovie.com
Plot: A thriller centered on an institutionalized young woman who becomes terrorized by a ghost. (From IMDb)

Review:

Ok, this did it for me. Im now a 100% convinced that Amber Heard cant act for her life. Shes super aggressive and such a loud ass in every film ive seen her in. STOP IT!

The film consists of some close-up shots of hands and deep, dark, empty corridors, empty beds and elevators.
Not saying that isnt exciting and... ok, thats exactly what im saying.
So, Kristen (Amber Heard) is haunted by a mysterious and deadly ghost, besides that shes not got a single clue as to what shes doing there, and why the rest of the girls doesnt like her. *damdamdaaaaaaam*
What happens then? Well of course shes trying to escape... by scream and yelling and acting like a toolbox, the real Amber Heard way. Because thats going to help, and wont get you locked up and sedated (what a lamer).

The Ward relies too heavily on recycled horror plot points and scares. It fails to commit to a certain distinction or direction, not coming off creepy enough for todays horror movies, and not scaring enough to be considered in line with old school horror. determined to be original and full of twists that isnt working at all, but just comes off as laughable. This production isnt adding anything new to horror movies.

Xlarge_theward-1

Other reviews of this film: EVILDEADKING (5/10) , cerealkiller182 (3/10) > Display all
howardsmith5
howardsmith5 at 12:52 PM Jan 21
WP-DFA
WP-DFA at 03:46 PM Jan 21

^ fucking seriously???

Laylina
Laylina at 04:19 PM Jan 21

At least its not viagra pills or porn...

Read all 7 comments >>

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Live Free or Die Hard



2007-live_free_or_die_hard-1

Directed by: Len Wiseman
Written by: Mark Bomback
Cast: Bruce Willis, Justin Long, Maggie Q, Timothy Olyphant
Studio: Fox
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.livefreeordiehard.com
Plot: John McClane takes on an Internet-based terrorist organization who is systematically shutting down the United States. (From IMDb)

Review:

I.Dont.Want.Internet.Hackers.In.My.Die.Hard.Movie.Dot.F'ing.Com.

What the hell is wrong with the world. Computer hackers? No seriously, f'ing computer hackers?
John McClane battles his greatest enemy yet: technology! *insert dramatic music here*

As usual its been made for the mass audience, teens and kids, and i was half expecting the badies to text Bruce going: "Whaaaaddduuuuupp duuuuuude. Omfg its just like too lol, that we should run into each other like this *smiley face* we're like the worst like BFF story in the boooooook *weird sick looking smiley face* im like going to hate on you now. Like die motherf**ker... and stuff" The film just completely lost its hard adult edge. Michael Bay would be proud.

Willis is still cool, and he will always be, but i wish he would reconsider making another one of these.

Diehard14

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (7/10) , Anakin (7/10) > Display all
razgriz21
razgriz21 at 10:53 AM Jan 18

Laylina, you've became my best friend. You've echoed my thoughts!

IwishIwasBond
IwishIwasBond at 01:13 PM Jan 20

I love you for this review

frenzy227
frenzy227 at 04:51 PM Jan 21

I've only seen this once. Might deserve another viewing.

Read all 8 comments >>

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Iron Man 2



Iron-man2-poster6

Directed by: Jon Favreau
Written by: Justin Theroux
Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, Jon Favreau, Samuel L. Jackson, Mickey Rourke, Sam Rockwell, Scarlett Johannson, Gary Shandling, Kate Mara, Clark Gregg
Studio: Paramount Pictures
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.ironmanmovie.com
Plot: Because of his superhero alter ego, Tony Stark must contend with deadly issues involving the government, his own friends and new enemies. (From IMDb)

Review:

Iron Man 2 proves to be a worthy sequel although not as brilliant as the first, but considering it was nothing more than a setup for "The Avengers" where they allowed themselves to shamelessly advertise for the freak of nature film to come *hate hate rant hate hate*, it really wasent as bad.

Downey is as brilliant as ever as Tony Stark, and most of the remaining cast is also very well rounded. Rourke does a great job with Ivan Vanko, and Paltrow, beautiful as always as Pepper Potts.
But while theres two characters i really liked, theres also two characters id like to place on a rocket and fly into space, byebye. Samuel L. Jackson is just STUPID in his role as mr. stick-up-his-ass Nick Fury, and Scarlett Johansson is acting (or is she) like a bitch, how new and refreshing.....

So, to sum up, hated the Avengers advertising. It makes it less entertaining as the first, but the Iron Man franchise is still doing better as a superhero film than a lot of the other ones nowadays.

Iron-man-2

Other reviews of this film: JoBlo (6/10) , Derek237 (8/10) > Display all
JohnLocke2342
JohnLocke2342 at 11:56 AM Jan 16

What Nite Owl said.. It's not bad by any means, it just takes a step back from the original when people were expecting a second entry along the lines of The Dark Knight.

speederice
speederice at 12:02 PM Jan 16

I completely agree with you! The film just has a different tone when its Tony interacting with the SHIELD crew vs. Tony just interacting with his crew (Pepper, Hogan, and Rhodey). And I much prefer the latter. The parts that drag and feel out of place are when it's just Tony and Fury, or Tony, Fury and Widow.

frenzy227
frenzy227 at 04:52 PM Jan 21

Couldn't stand this movie. Boring, dumb, and next to no action.

Read all 11 comments >>

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

The Brothers Grimm



2005-brothers_grimm-2

Directed by: Terry Gilliam
Written by: Ehren Kruger
Cast: Matt Damon, Heath Ledger, Monica Bellucci, Jonathan Pryce, Lena Headey, Peter Stormare, Mackenzie Crook, Richard Ridings
Studio: Dimension Films
Genre: Action, Fantasy
Official Site: www.miramax.com/thebrothersgrimm/
Plot: Will and Jake Grimm are travelling con-artists who encounter a genuine fairy-tale curse which requires genuine courage instead of their usual bogus exorcisms.

Review:

Firstly, the plot of this film appealed greatly to me. Im a sucker for fairy tales and Heath Ledger. Secondly, i dont quite understand the negativity surrounding this film. Sure its flawed, but present me with a movie that isnt flawed in some way.

The film itself is super original, and Matt Damon and Heath Ledger are fantastic together and very believable as brothers in this magical world. They are such an exceptional and enjoyable team with great chemistry (much like Jude Law and Downey Jr.).
I found the story very thrilling, but also very amusing. Peter Stormare rocked the socks off his character, and Monica Bellucci is THE one and only evil queen entitled to use the phrase "mirror, mirror, on the wall" because she IS the fairest of them all.

2005_the_brothers_grimm_040

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (6/10) , RiverStyx (3/10) > Display all
Laylina
Laylina at 02:54 PM Jan 15

This film dates back to before they started on all that stupid ass fairy tale rewriting theyre so keen on at the moment. When i first watched it at the cinemas back then, i thought it was pretty original. The mix of comedy, horror thrills, and the fact that the cast is something i would never have put together myself, i found it pretty refreshing.

WP-DFA
WP-DFA at 03:18 PM Jan 16

oh yeah yeah, I was just meaning not original in terms of it just being a bunch of classic fairytales combined ;) it was pretty unique for it's time and up until about 3 years ago was too... then all hell broke loose lol

Laylina
Laylina at 06:29 PM Jan 16

Ah i see what you mean!

Read all 4 comments >>

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Iron Man



2008-iron_man-2

Directed by: Jon Favreau
Written by: Arthur Marcum, Matthew Hollaway
Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Terrence Howard, Jeff Bridges, Gwyneth Paltrow
Studio: Paramount
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.ironmanmovie.com
Plot: When Tony Stark gets kidnapped and forced to build a diabolical weapon, he instead uses his intelligence and ingenuity to construct an indestructible suit of armor and escape his captors. Once free, Stark discovers a deadly conspiracy that could destabilize the entire globe, and dons his powerful new suit on a mission to stop the villains and save the world.

Review:

Easily the best movie based on a Marvel character ever made. It takes the idea of a superhero into new territory, and god do i love that!!
I am by far the biggest superhero hater you can encounter on this planet. Its not so much that i hate the idea of a superhero, its more the fact that theyre all the same whiney bastards. If i could destroy buildings and crush a human head with my bare hands, id quit whining and get to it.

Most of this movies heart and charm is owed to Robert Downey Jr., who completely ownes the character in every way possible. Iron Man takes the best parts of the source material and makes it into something familiar, but also new (much like Batman), they also managed to get down the comedy without making the movie become one. But most important, the film takes time to invest in its characters and plot so we can care about what happens to everyone.

Ironman25

Other reviews of this film: DaFuNk44 (9/10) , KcMsterpce (6/10) > Display all
sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 07:28 AM Jan 11

Great Review. I enjoyed "Iron Man" too.

Invidtus
Invidtus at 07:56 AM Jan 11

great film-

Anakin
Anakin at 10:33 AM Jan 11

Nice review. Now, wait till you see the second one so you can see how they demonstrate how NOT to make a good sequel.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Halloween



2007-halloween-2

Directed by: Rob Zombie
Written by: Rob Zombie
Cast: Malcolm McDowell, Tyler Mane, Sheri Moon Zombie, William Forsythe, Ken Foree, Danielle Harris, Adrienne Barbeau, Clint Howard, Courtney Gains, Daryl Sabara, Brad Dourif, Udo Kier, Kristina Klebel, Daeg Faerch, Pat Skipper, Dee Wallace Stone
Studio: Dimension Films
Genre: Horror
Official Site: www.halloween-themovie.com
Plot: As a child, young Michael Myers committed one of the most unspeakable crimes imaginable. Subsequently locked in an asylum and placed under the care of Dr. Loomis, the hollow-eyed boy grew into an emotionless man determined to escape back to his hometown of Haddonfield and complete the murderous mission that he began so many years back.

Review:

Bear in mind that i havent seen any of the older films, nor have i seen the Halloween 2 remake.

Ive seen it 2 times, but I should have just stuck with one time, because it didnt really get any better the second time either.
Giving Michael Myers a 'back story' could have worked very well, and it sort of did i think, the first part was creepy as fuck.
But then he grew up, and the movie became boring and i started skipping scenes that were taking forever. This happened the first time i saw it, the second time i actually endured the whole thing...

So add to all that, a horrible cast (80% of the people he killed were all assholes), and bang, youve got a horror nearly just as stupid as Jason X.

(sarcasm on) Rob Zombie knows what sells movies, sex and nudity, a pinch of gore and blood, mixed with a lot of cliches = Halloween (sarcasm off). Piranha anyone?

Im6mfilcphmiaps55easebzw__

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (3/10) , Kevin Smith fan (8/10) > Display all
YoshioKun13
YoshioKun13 at 11:19 AM Jan 10

I'd go with that razgriz. H20 is a lame piece of shite.

Laylina
Laylina at 12:40 PM Jan 10

I can imagine it was better, due to the fact that i only really like the childhood part of the story.

timmyd
timmyd at 01:45 PM Jan 10

The ' back story ' was an Epic mistake . One of the most terrifying aspects of Michael Meyers was the blank slate that he was , no one new the motivation , no one knew , other than the good Dr. Loomis , that he was simply walking , stalking , EVIL . Giving us a product of a messed up childhood , who was repeatedly teased and bullied was idiotic , and sucked the fear out of the Film completely . Nicely done .

Read all 9 comments >>

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

The Reaping



2007-reaping-4

Directed by: Stephen Hopkins
Written by: Chad Hayes, Carey Hayes
Cast: Hilary Swank, David Morrissey, Idris Elba
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Thriller
Official Site: www.thereapingmovie.com
Plot: Her faith shaken by a family tragedy from which she was never quite able to fully recover, a professor of theology from Louisiana State University moonlighting as a debunker of unexplained religious phenomena finds herself faced with an apocalyptic series of events that seem to reflect the ten plagues.

Review:

Hilary Swank and AnnaSophia Robb brings some good acting to the table, but even their performance couldnt undo where the film was heading.
A very good first half, but then its like the film doesnt really know where it wants to go, so itll just be all over the place instead - it gets messy and boring.
Another thing i want to mention: The Reaping is very far from being a horror. The only time it gets close to something scary, is at the beginning, and the closer she gets to solving the mystery, the less scary it gets.
The beginning: 7/10 stars. Middle part: 4/10. The ending: 5/10. The Reaping ends with a bang average rating.

The_reaping_02

Other reviews of this film: MisterPink (8/10) , acerky (6/10) > Display all
sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 09:06 AM Jan 08

Good Movie.

Dr.Frankenstein
Dr.Frankenstein at 12:13 PM Jan 08

That rating seems about right.

Psycho-Pirate-99
Psycho-Pirate-99 at 01:33 AM Apr 07

How could you possibly say AnnaSophia Robb brings good acting to the table? She like didn't say shit throughout the whole movie, she just had a blank stare the whole time.

You're right about everything else though, what a bore.

Read all 4 comments >>

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

The Happening



2008-happening-5

Directed by: M. Night Shyamalan
Written by: M. Night Shyamalan
Cast: Mark Wahlberg, Zooey Deschanel, John Leguizamo, Betty Buckley
Studio: Fox
Genre: Thriller
Official Site: www.thehappeningmovie.com
Plot: A strange, horrible and unprecedented crisis begins in Central Park. A high school science teacher, his wife and a young girl do what they can to survive it.

Review:

This is a disaster movie in every way, and what a shame. Not only do i utterly hate disaster movies, but i also really hate the ones with thin thin THIN storylines (that makes most of them). It feels like The Happening could have been a great horror/thriller, but got too commercial and laughable in the process. Too bad. Try again.

Now unlike popular opinions right now, suggesting that Shyamalan is getting boring and used up, i disagree. I still think theres a great director hidden inside of him. I feel like all his films is with GREAT potential, but they just end up falling flat.

Happening2

Other reviews of this film: dannywalker17 (8/10) , DaFuNk44 (7/10) > Display all
sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 05:58 PM Jan 05

I really liked this movie, The death scenes were Intense.

Dr.Frankenstein
Dr.Frankenstein at 01:41 AM Jan 07

Liked it very much.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Easy A



Easya-poster-1

Directed by: Will Gluck
Written by: Bert V. Royal
Cast: Emma Stone, Penn Badgely, Thomas Haden Church, Amanda Bynes, Stanley Tucci, Patricia Clarkson, Cam Gigandet, Lisa Kudrow
Studio: Screen Gems
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.letsnotandsaywedid.com
Plot: A clean-cut high school student relies on the school's rumor mill to advance her social and financial standing.

Review:

I wholeheartedly recommend this films to everyone i meet. A super smart script, together with a wonderful leading lady and supporting cast, makes Easy A one of the very best movies from 2010.
The dialogue consists of witty banter and funny comments.
The film in itself is not very realistic, and i doubt many teenagers actually speak the way these do. But i think this is the reason for me liking it so much.
Anyways, watch it!

Movie-easy_a-stills-691649550

Other reviews of this film: Highspeed (8/10) , Derek237 (5/10) > Display all
horrorfan23
horrorfan23 at 12:13 PM Jan 05

Emma Stone was amazing in this movie. Great combination of smart, cute, and funny.

goNADSgo69
goNADSgo69 at 01:25 PM Jan 05

I love this movie and it is one that has been growing on me ever since I first saw it =]

HTX0811
HTX0811 at 03:27 PM Jan 05

This movie's like a fungus, but in a good way. There's just something about it that grows on you and makes you love it.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Conan the Barbarian



Conan-poster-2

Directed by: Marcus Nispel
Written by: Thomas Dean Donnelly, Joshua Oppenheimer, Andrew Lobel, Sean Hood
Cast: Jason Momoa, Ron Perlman, Stephen Lang, Leo Howard, Rachel Nichols, Rose McGowan, Said Taghmaoui, Bob Sapp
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comic Book, Fantasy
Official Site:
Plot: A quest that begins as a personal vendetta soon turns into an epic battle against hulking rivals, horrific monsters, and impossible odds.

Review:

So, with low expectations, it didnt disappoint, nor did it surprise.
plenty of macho ridiculousness and filled with violence just for violence's sake.. not a bad quality, but gets a bit "whatever" after a while.
I Only have one question when it comes to the story and structure of the film. Why did this movie need to carry on for nearly two hours? It got extremely boring every now and then, and i suffered a little bit, trying to follow with an open mind.

Another question goes in the direction of the cast. I cant really write this without laughing a little, because thinking back on the performance of the actors.. what the hell.
I was half hoping they would have gone for a Conan with a little more charisma then a doorknob.
The only performance worth remembering was handed out by Rose McGowan.
I have now seen Conan, entertaining enough, but i wont ever watch it again.

Rose-mcgowan-in-conan-the-barbarian-2011-movie-image-2

Other reviews of this film: Anakin (6/10) , rockyjr (7/10) > Display all
Anakin
Anakin at 09:53 AM Jan 04

Yeah. Characters are introduced then forgotten about almost as if they'd popped up from another draft of the script. It was messy as far as structure goes. I wasn't a fan of the female lead. Far too modern. Didn't fit at all.

horrorfan23
horrorfan23 at 11:41 AM Jan 04

Rose McGowan was hilarious in that getup.

sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 12:20 PM Jan 04

I thought this movie was oK.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

The Resident



Resident-poster1

Directed by: Antti Jokinen
Written by: Antti Jokinen, Robert Orr
Cast: Hilary Swank, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Christopher Lee
Studio: Image Entertainment
Genre: Horror, Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: When a young doctor suspects she may not be alone in her new Brooklyn loft, she learns that her landlord has formed a frightening obsession with her.

Review:

Seen it, done it, got the t-shirt.

When did thrillers become so mainstream and identical?
Its seriously depressing to start a film, to then almost fall asleep after 30 mins. It was a struggle not to turn the whole thing off.

The story is not only predictable, but also stripped from everything that comes close to suspense and surprises.
The acting isnt amazing from anyone (not even Christopher Lee, what!?! I know), and its pretty clear that they are struggling to keep it interesting with the script they have.
But it still falls very flat. Splat.

The_resident_movie_stills_6

Other reviews of this film: EVILDEADKING (4/10) , MattSlash (6/10) > Display all
Dr.Frankenstein
Dr.Frankenstein at 10:05 AM Jan 03

mmmmm Swank!

horrorfan23
horrorfan23 at 10:51 AM Jan 09

Is he trying to feed her his nose?

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

X-Men: First Class



Xmen-first-class-poster1-2

Directed by: Matthew Vaughn
Written by: Matthew Vaughn, Jane Goldman, Bryan Singer
Cast: Michael Fassbender, James McAvoy, Zoe Kravitz, January Jones, Kevin Bacon, Oliver Platt, Nicholas Hoult, Jennifer Lawrence, Caleb Landry Jones , Lucas Till, Edi Gathegi, Jason Flemyng, Rose Byrne
Studio: Fox
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comic Book
Official Site: www.x-menfirstclassmovie.com
Plot: X-Men: First Class unveils the beginning of the X-Men saga, and a secret history of the Cold War and our world at the brink of nuclear Armageddon. As the first class discovers, harnesses, and comes to terms with their formidable powers, alliances are formed that will shape the eternal war between the heroes and villains of the X-Men universe.

Review:

Silly people be good at casting other silly people.

Maybe im the only one to notice, but the cast came off so wrong and misplaced, and that just seems strange, considering they were all very good actors.
I did laugh a few times, but it wasent the jokes i laughed at, it was the very cheesy lines they rambled off every now and then.

But, keeping in mind that im VERY critical when it comes to the whole X-Men franchise, and absolutely hated some of the 1st + all of the 2nd and 3rd film, this one wasent half bad. One of the better in my opinion.
I had feared it would become too teen-drama and eye rolling material. Luckly it didnt.
Michael Fassbender made an amazing and very convincing Magneto! He made me want to join the dark side, because we all know they have cookies, and now the latest edition, Fassbender himself.

X_men_first_class_film_stills-1-thumb-400x233-21557

Other reviews of this film: Weapon X (9/10) , Derek237 (9/10) > Display all
sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 08:05 AM Jan 02

I had mix feeling about this movie the first time I saw it, But after watching it again it was pretty Good.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows



Sherlock-holmes2-char-poster1-2

Directed by: Guy Ritchie
Written by: Kieren Mulroney, Michele Mulroney
Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, Noomi Rapace, Jared Harris, Eddie Marsan, Stephen Fry
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy, Mystery
Official Site: www.sherlockholmes2.com
Plot: There is a new criminal mastermind, Professor Moriarty. Not only is he Holmes' intellectual equal, but his capacity for evil, coupled with a complete lack of conscience, may actually give him an advantage over the renowned detective. When the Crown Prince of Austria is found dead, the evidence, points to suicide. But Sherlock Holmes deduces that the prince has been the victim of murder. A murder that is only one piece of a larger and much more portentous puzzle.

Review:

Good sequel. The franchise relies on the chemistry between Downey Jr. and Law, and once again, they worked very well together. But what i really want to talk about is, Stephen Fry (as Mycroft) and Noomi Rapace (as Madam Simza Heron).
When reading the books, you get the idea that Mycroft is very dry, stuck up and a dull.
But i just loved how they portrayed him in this film, so much better than the books.

Now in the first Sherlock Holmes, the female counterpart to Sherlock was played by Rachel McAdams and god i found her annoying, and so misplaced.
Her acting, personality and style did not fit in at all.
In A Game of Shadows, Noomi Rapace is the new female lead, and how well did she fit in?! It was like she always been there. She acts like what she is, a supporting actress, and isnt trying to outshine Law or Downey. Im seriously in love with her.

Sherlock_holmes_2_still

Other reviews of this film: cerealkiller182 (8/10) , wallcrawler383 (8/10) > Display all
Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Hanna



Hanna-poster2

Directed by: Joe Wright
Written by: Seth Lochhead, David Farr, Joe Penhall, Joe Wright
Cast: Saoirse Ronan, Cate Blanchett, Eric Bana, Jason Flemyng, Tom Hollander, Olivia Williams
Studio: Focus Features
Genre: Adventure, Thriller
Official Site: www.hannathemovie.com
Plot: Hanna is 16 years old. She is bright, inquisitive, and a devoted daughter. Uniquely, she has the strength, the stamina, and the smarts of a soldier, these come from being raised by her widowed father, an ex-CIA man, in the wilds of North Finland. Hanna has been living a life unlike any other teenager, her upbringing and training have been one and the same, all geared to making her the perfect assassin.

Review:

I loved the first section of the movie introducing us to the characters. Then came the middle half which went from good to bad, to worse.

The characters: Blanchett, im usually a huge fan. But with an accent that apparently went on and off every minute, and lack of understanding her character, i had no feeling what so ever for her.
Eric Bana, also a big fan. But seriously, more fake accents?! It also felt like he was massively underplayed.
The German psycho-assassin... yay for stereotypes?

The story: Paper thin. We're talking toilet paper here. It is so unclear why everyone is doing the things theyre doing. I dont understand why Hanna must die. I also dont understand why they had to let the fake accent lady know their whereabouts, and then get chased to Germany. Did we get any reason for that what so ever?
They also spendt around 2 hours, explaining a story, that could be summed up in no more than 10 seconds. This resulted in booooring, jaw breaking yawns and checking the timer to keep track of when my suffering would end.

Other reviews of this film: cerealkiller182 (6/10) , filmguy450 (7/10) > Display all
IwishIwasBond
IwishIwasBond at 04:55 PM Dec 29

Yup, didn't even finish it, shite.

Anakin
Anakin at 05:00 PM Dec 29

Trailer for this did nothing for me.

grelber37
grelber37 at 07:00 AM Jan 05

I disliked the movie Hanna for other reasons than those mentioned. But, good, there are four of us who are not on the Hanna bandwagon.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

King Arthur



2004-king_arthur-1

Directed by: Antoine Fuqua
Written by: David Franzoni
Cast: Clive Owen, Keira Knightley, Stellan Skarsgard, Stephen Dillane, Ray Winstone, Hugh Dancey, Til Schweiger, Ioan Gruffudd
Studio: Touchstone Pictures
Genre: Adventure
Official Site: kingarthur.movies.com
Plot: An attempt to wed the legend of King Arthur and his Knights of the Round Table with known historical facts of the era, this action adventure drama begins with the fall of the Roman Empire in 450 A.D. as Roman armies flee the British Isles. Arthur, a heroic knight and devoted Christian, is torn between his desire to travel to Rome to serve his faith and his loyalty to the land of his birth. As England falls into lawlessness, Arthur throws in his lot with a band of knights who hope to restore order to their fair and pleasant land and hopes to win freedom.

Review:

An interesting movie that tried really hard to get away from the mythology and simply tell the story of the king, historically. Theres some things i liked when they made that decision, and theres some things i didnt like.

Plus: Lancelot and Guinevere's muted romance. I always found it a little misplaced, boring and sticky to follow their romance and screw Arthur over. It made me hate those two characters more then i should.

Minus: By making it as historical, and going away from the myth. It becomes less fantasy, and i thought that made it lack the last bit of oompf it needed to truely be great.

I also want to point out the direction of the film. Despite having Clive Owen as an amazing Arthur, he suffered greatly under, what looked like really bad direction.

Kingart1

Other reviews of this film: filmguy450 (2/10) , RiverStyx (5/10) > Display all
Invidtus
Invidtus at 12:25 PM Dec 29

I would have to go with 7 as well mostly on the strength of whos in it, especially Stellan Skarsgard-

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Scream 4



Scream4-new-poster1-1

Directed by: Wes Craven
Written by: Kevin Williamson
Cast: Neve Campbell, Courteney Cox, Emma Roberts, Hayden Panettiere, David Arquette, Adam Brody, Anthony Anderson, Alison Brie, Mary McDonnell, Rory Culkin, Marley Shelton
Studio: Dimension Films
Genre: Horror, Mystery, Thriller
Official Site: www.scream-4.com
Plot: In Scream 4, Sidney Prescott, returns home to Woodsboro. There she reconnects with Sheriff Dewey and Gale, who are now married, as well as her cousin Jill and her Aunt Kate. Unfortunately Sidney's appearance also brings about the return of Ghostface, putting Sidney, Gale, and Dewey, along with Jill, her friends, and the whole town of Woodsboro in danger.

Review:

think my opinion of the Scream series has almost entirely changed since i saw the first one.
They managed to hack and slice every little credibility thats left, down to almost nothing with each of the sequels.
This movie truly is terrible and just re-affirms that some writers seriously dont know how to make horror movies anymore, especially this type of murderous slashers.
Im so tired of watching movies with a humorous tone and endless amount of satire, and then act like its the scariest thing ive ever seen. Im also sick of having opinions shoved down my throat: "This is Scream, this is classic horror when its best!" because it seems like thats what they were hoping people would think or say, when they agreed to making it.
Yes, the first one might have been. This abomination isnt.
So, my reason for watching this in the first place? It got better reviews than the other sequels. People must be out of their minds.
Unless you like having the same story repeat itself for the 4th time, by all means, enjoy.

Scream4_cox

Other reviews of this film: Snowboy (7/10) , Derek237 (8/10) > Display all
Terminal_83
Terminal_83 at 04:27 PM Dec 28

Yep.

Anakin
Anakin at 05:54 PM Dec 28

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

sLaShEr84
sLaShEr84 at 10:27 PM Dec 28

I thought this movie was really good.

Laylina posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Super 8



Super_8_poster2

Directed by: J.J. Abrams
Written by: J.J. Abrams
Cast: Gabriel Basso, Kyle Chandler, Joel Courtney, Ron Eldard, Noah Emmerich, Elle Fanning, Riley Griffiths, Ryan Lee, Zach Mills
Studio: Bad Robot
Genre: Science-Fiction, Thriller
Official Site: www.super8-movie.com
Plot: During the summer of 1979, a group of friends witness a train crash and investigate subsequent unexplained events in their small town.

Review:

2 problems i had with this film. The ending, it felt short and unsatisfying and the alien looks like a spider-robot-bear.
The things that ended up saving the film: great special effects, and incredible performances from the young cast, which make up for the plot in the end.
That said, Super 8 reminds me of the early Spielberg movies, and i would very much like to see more of this (not talking about a sequel here).

Super-8-train-crash-scene

Other reviews of this film: Derek237 (10/10) , Sfpsycho415 (7/10) > Display all
Anakin
Anakin at 01:32 PM Dec 28

Glad you liked it! Nice review and I agree with some of the points you made. I'd have liked the film a lot more if the alien had of been bad. Didn't care too much for the E.T. link but other than that great film

Shabs
Shabs at 01:42 PM Dec 28

I can't wait to watch this on Blu-Ray

Tee-ads-mfc2 JoBlo.com Arrow in the Head Movie Hotties JoBlo Videos