Watch the intro video!
Image_211ba7056
September 2014
SMTWTFS
31123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
2829301234

Birthday
June 5th

Sex
Male

Relationship Status
Married

Location
British Columbia (Canada)

Work/School

Links


193 friends > See all
What's this?

Fan of 0 items > See all
Image_f011c1b88
Invidtus
Offline
Badge_01 Badge_02 Badge_03 Badge_07 Badge_08
" You fight like a younger man, with nothing held back. Admirable but mistaken "-
TOTAL POSTS
12,687 Posts
KING Of All Schmoes
View all reviews
Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 28 days ago

The Two Faces of January



Two_faces_of_january_poster

Directed by: Hossein Amini
Written by: Hossein Amini
Cast: Viggo Mortensen, Kirsten Dunst, Oscar Isaac
Studio: Working Title
Genre: Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: While on vacation in Athens, a couple (Viggo Mortensen and Kirsten Dunst) find themselves on the run with the help of a American born tour guide (Oscar Issac)-

Review:

Viggo - I MISSED YOU SO MUCH (the last time I saw you was your impressive performance as Sigmund Freud in 2011's A Dangerous Method). He is more than capable here as Chester, a shifty businessman who's quickly in trouble over his head. Kirsten Dunst usually kind of annoys me but she is pretty solid here. As for Oscar Issac, between this film and Inside Llewyn Davis I can't wait to see what he brings to Star Wars Episode 7. He reminds me of a young Andy Garcia. A nice European thriller set to the backdrop of Greece, Crete, and Turkey-

The-two-faces-of-january

Cochise
Cochise at 10:32 AM Aug 18

great to hear!

Glinda
Glinda at 11:50 PM Aug 18

Nice review and I'm glad to hear you loved it. Myself I am a big Kirsten Dunst fan so glad she does great and always love Viggo.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Enemy



Enemy_ver2_xlg

Directed by: Denis Villeneuve
Written by: Javier Gullon
Cast: Jake Gyllenhaal, Mélanie Laurent, Isabella Rossellini, Sarah Gadon
Studio: A24
Genre: Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: Renting a movie on a colleagues suggestion, teacher Adam Bell (Jake Gyllenhaal) accidentally discovers he has an exact double. Spiders ensue-

Review:

Deeply engrossing and weird, Enemy is another example of how Jake Gyllenhaal is not given enough accolades as he is terrific as different sides of the same human coin. Melanie Laurent is beautiful as usual,and I was also very impressed with Sarah Gadon who was equally good in A Dangerous Method. The score is brilliant and very menacing. Shot in Toronto, eh-

Enemy02

Other reviews of this film: TreyTheMovieMan (9/10) , cerealkiller182 (9/10) > Display all
Invidtus
Invidtus at 03:22 PM Aug 10

@Cochise - I'm planning to catch it on Netflix in the next few weeks-

Glinda
Glinda at 07:23 PM Aug 10

Love Jake Gyllenhaal and Melanie Laurent. Big fan of Isabella Rossellini as well. Must check this out.

Cochise
Cochise at 10:41 AM Aug 11

Cool, look forward to your thoughts on that. Kind of a unrelated question but it seemed like a similar kind of movie to this one (and Zero Theorem which you also recently checked out) so thought I'd ask. I still gotta get around to it, and this one, I was planning on doing a double header of Enemy and the Double, but fear my brain may be fried after... lol

Read all 5 comments >>

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

The Zero Theorem



Zero-posterznew

Directed by: Terry Gilliam
Written by:
Cast: Christoph Waltz, Tilda Swinton, David Thewlis, Melanie Thierry, Peter Stormare, Matt Damon, Sanjeev Bhaskar
Studio: Voltage Pictures
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: I can't even

Review:

I caught The Zero Theorem flying somewhere over Greenland with no sleep for almost 24 hours and it really sucked me in. I guess the weirdness of Terry Gilliam makes perfect sense in less than normal circumstances. Christoph Waltz is terrific as Quinn, the computer analyst who seeks to prove that nothing is everything.....or everything is nothing. I don't know you tell me. Also, Tilda Swinton RAPS-

The-zero-theorem-clip-mancom-at-cinemas-march-14

Other reviews of this film: Cochise (8/10) > Display all
Cochise
Cochise at 03:38 PM Aug 09

YES! So glad you got a chance to see it and loved it man. Waltz was so so so great and I loved how this role stands apart from his other recent famous ones. Gilliam rocked it once again.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

The Counselor



The-counselor

Directed by: Ridley Scott
Written by: Cormac McCarthy
Cast: Michael Fassbender, Brad Pitt, Javier Bardem, Cameron Diaz, Penelope Cruz, John Leguizamo
Studio: Chockstone Pictures
Genre: Crime, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: Michael Fassbender does bad things and then feels bad about it, Diaz takes a windshields virginity, and everyone looks like a million bucks. Also, Cheetahs ! -

Review:

Eh, the best way I can put it is The Counselor makes Savages look like Traffic. I love Fassbender and Cruz but never really believed/cared about any implied chemistry they were supposed to have, Diaz was fine with her animal spot tattoos, Bardem is always good, but I only really perked up any time Pitt was on screen as Westray (he wears a great necklace at the end).My favorite parts besides Pitt weren't the leads but the cameos by Rosie Perez, John Leguizamo, Dean Norris, and Sam Spruell as "The Wireman" Lots of stylish clothes, cinematography, and speeches but still a big desert of meh. Even the soundtrack was ehhh. It went up from a 4 because it had cheetahs-

The-counselor-hd-trailer-movie-images-pitt-bardem-diaz-cruz-fassbender-7

Other reviews of this film: Pied Piper (9/10) , Jedd the Jedi (4/10) > Display all
G. Costanza
G. Costanza at 10:56 PM Jul 11

I've heard a lot of lackluster things about this movie. Disappointing considering it's Ridley Scott and how great the cast is.

HTX0811
HTX0811 at 02:51 AM Jul 12

I didn't hate it but it just felt empty to me. It wasn't unwatchable or boring, it was just there.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

The Lookout



2007-lookout-1

Directed by: Scott Frank
Written by: Scott Frank
Cast: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Jeff Daniels, Isla Fisher, Matthew Goode, Carla Gugino
Studio: Miramax Films
Genre: Crime
Official Site: www.thelookout-movie.com
Plot: 4 years after rising hockey star Chris Pratt is left brain injured from a car accident, his job as a bank janitor in a sleepy Kansas town attracts some new "friends". Hilarity ensues-

Review:

Like a Kansas flip side to Fargo, less quirky and more moody, The Lookout pulls great performances out of everyone involved. JGL as the memory-challenged lead, Matthew Goode (underrated) , Isla Fisher (over clothed) and a typically awesome performance from Jeff Daniels as JGL's blind roommate Lewis. The mintue Isla Fisher comes on screen you just have to damn Sacha Baron Cohen a little. Good tidy crime drama. Goode's henchman/compatriot aptly named Bone is like a pale spectre of death in sunglasses, very badass."I wake up, I take a shower, I use soap "-

Post-islafisher2

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (7/10) , phelonious (9/10) > Display all
G. Costanza
G. Costanza at 06:31 AM Jun 25

Both Carla Gugino and Isla Fisher are in this?? I might have to see just based on all that combined hotness.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

The Station Agent



2003-station_agent-2

Directed by: Thomas McCarthy
Written by: Thomas McCarthy
Cast: Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson, Bobby Cannavale, Raven Goodwin, Paul Benjamin, Michelle Williams, Jayce Bartok, Maile Flanagan, Joe Lo Truglio
Studio: Miramax
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.thestationagent.com
Plot: When his business partner unexpectedly dies, Finbar McBride (Peter Dinklage) ends up relocating to a piece of rail land in Newfoundland, New Jersey. There he makes friends with a hot dog vendor (Bobby Cannavale) and an erratic artist (Patricia Clarkson)-

Review:

In all honestly, I am not big on animated movies. I enjoy action as much as the next guy but can easily overdose on superheroness sometimes. Occasionally it's just nice to sit back and watch a low key character driven movie, of which The Station Agent succeeds admirably. Peter Dinklage can convey more with a resigned look than many can at their most over the top dramatic as the closed mouthed Fin, who just wants to watch trains, read, and essentially be left alone. He is joined by the terrific Bobby Cannavale (who doesn't want this guy to be his best friend really), and Canadian veteran actress Patricia Clarkson (also great) as his new found firends. Great little cameo by an extremely cute Michelle Williams as the town librarian. Very good rewatch-

Thestationagent1

Cochise
Cochise at 07:51 PM Jun 11

always meant to watch this. Nice review. After becoming a big fan of Bobby Cannavale as of late I should get on it

Anakin
Anakin at 03:50 AM Jun 12

I enjoyed this.

HTX0811
HTX0811 at 10:14 AM Jun 12

This was very interesting. Didn't know what to expect but I'm glad I checked it out.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 4 months ago

Trance



Trance-official-poster

Directed by: Danny Boyle
Written by: Danny Boyle
Cast: James McAvoy, Rosario Dawson, Vincent Cassel
Studio: Fox Searchlight
Genre: Action, Drama, Mystery, Thriller
Official Site: www.trancethemovie.com
Plot: " Everyone knows amnesia is bollocks " An attempted art theft goes sideways and everyone will need some aspirin. Hilarity ensues-

Review:

Trance is a sleek little hypno-thriller from director Danny Boyle (Trainspotting, 127 Hours), and the film is mainly powered by a triangle of strong leads, flanked on two sides by James McAvoy and Vincent Cassel. At it's tip is a magnificent performance (very raw you might say) by Rosario Dawson. Of which I am very, very, I MEAN VERY appreciative. Once again it's no surprise that Vincent Cassel is the man. Plus I love art so it's a great subject matter. Great soundtrack as well Overdue viewing and very glad I finally did-

James-mcavoy-in-trance-2013-movie-image-21-600x421

Other reviews of this film: drzeek (8/10) , Beauski (7/10) > Display all
JenGirl824
JenGirl824 at 07:26 PM May 27

it was my favorite movie last year.

Cochise
Cochise at 12:37 PM May 28

nice review, really dug it too. I can't help but keep calling it 'little' as well though, compared to Danny Boyle's other projects it just kind of seems like a walk in the park, a small little one-off, I don't know. By no means a simple movie or anything, just for him it seems 'little'

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 4 months ago

Blue Jasmine



Blue-jasmine-poster

Directed by: Woody Allen
Written by: Woody Allen
Cast: Alec Baldwin, Cate Blanchett, Bobby Cannavale, Louis C.K., Andrew Clay, Sally Hawkins, Peter Sarsgaard, Michael Stuhlbarg
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
Genre: Comedy, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: Woody Allen throws his own topspin on A Streetcar Named Desire along with Vodka, Xanax, and a lot of lies-

Review:

Easily one of my favorite films of 2013 - there isn't a false step in the entire film. Besides the brilliance of Blanchett there are stellar performances by Sally Hawkins, Alec Baldwin, Louis C.K., Bobby Cannavale, Peter Sarsgaard, and of all people, Andrew Dice Clay. I've never been much of a ferverent Woody Allen fan but this was really outstanding. Also, the final scene jsut wrecked me-

Bluejasmine3

Other reviews of this film: drzeek (9/10) , oscarxp25 (9/10) > Display all
Beauski
Beauski at 05:42 PM May 14

I really enjoyed Blue Jasmine. Cate earned every bit of that Oscar.

Glinda
Glinda at 06:18 PM May 14

Nice review. I liked it but didn't love it. I did, however, love that entire cast - what a talented ensemble it was great. Cate was fantastic (never seen anything but stellar performance from her).

I agree regarding the ending too. Hell I'd probably love it if I watched it again, as often happens.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 4 months ago

Man of Steel



Man-of-steel-new

Directed by: Zack Snyder
Written by: David Goyer
Cast: Julia Ormond, Michael Shannon, Diane Lane, Kevin Costner, Amy Adams, Russell Crowe, Henry Cavill, Laurence Fishburne, Harry Lennix, Christopher Meloni
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comic Book, Science-Fiction
Official Site: www.manofsteel.com
Plot: An illegal immigrant (Henry Cavill) crash lands on our planet, only to be followed by his Krypton buddies who wrecked their home and now want to mess up ours. Hilarity ensues-

Review:

When you watch a long movie for the first time drunk, you convince yourself that you saw maybe 90% of it. In retrospect you see about 50% of it. I had a blast with the film the second time around, especially Antje Traue as Faora who can kick my ass any time. Everyone was solid, if not in some cases especially challenged.I mean Laurence Fishburne was a great Laurence Fishburne (who I always see now as Jack Crawford). Hans Zimmer's score is in my mind one of his best. Never caught the water tower with Smallville on it the first time, no big surprise. My only complaint is it was overly drawn out in a few places but whatever. Good times. BRING IT ON BATMAN-

8w9zj0r

Other reviews of this film: Muta (8/10) , drzeek (6/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 11:19 PM May 08

Nice review, glad you loved it. I thought it was so much fun.

lol - I think Laurence Fishburne will forever be Jack Crawford to me as well.

Cochise
Cochise at 10:23 AM May 09

When I started Hannibal it was always 'Morpheus Morpheus Morpheus' but damn you're right, it's just Jack Crawford now. He totally fricken owns in that role, fantastic work. He was just kind of there in Man of Steel though, didn't have much at all to do

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 5 months ago

Rush (1991)



1991-rush-poster2

Directed by: Lili Fini Zanuck
Written by: Peter Dexter
Cast: Jason Patric, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Sam Elliott, Max Perlich
Studio: MGM
Genre: Crime, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: A pair of undercover cops (Jason Patric and Jennifer Jason Leigh) watch their control spiral away as they seek to take down a alleged Texas drug dealer (Greg Allman).

Review:

I guess It's just taken for granted that actors like Patric and Jennifer Jason Leigh will deliver solid performances because this film is a kick in the face about the realities of drug addiction that went almost completely unlauded, except for Clapton singing Tears In Heaven - which isn't even a sliver of the terrrific movie soundtrack tbh. Great supporting roles from Sam Elliott, Max Perlich, William Sadler, and a quietly menacing performance by singer Greg Allman as alleged drug dealer Will Gaines. Not an easy watch but it's about drugs so nobody should hold out for puppies and Hugh Grant-

282215_full

Laksmikanti
Laksmikanti at 07:48 AM Apr 22

Duuude I need to se this, back then it was not possible for me to watch it .. and then the movie was lost and I forgot that even existed, of course know I remember the soundtrack (because even without watching the movie I got access to the soundtrack... almost). Man God Bless Internet.

Glinda
Glinda at 05:08 PM Apr 22

I really liked this movie a lot. Such a great cast. I know Jason Patrick has done some good movies since this but I don't think I've seen any other than Sleepers.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 5 months ago

Drinking Buddies



Drinking-buddies-poster1

Directed by: Joe Swanberg
Written by: Joe Swanberg
Cast: Olivia Wilde, Jake Johnson, Anna Kendrick, Ron Livingston
Studio: Magnolia Pictures
Genre: Comedy, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: The goings on between 2 couples set to a brewery backdrop-

Review:

Olivia constantly drinks beer, cracks jokes, belches, and takes her top off to run into the ocean. Nuff said. P.S. once again you can go to hell Sudekis you lucky bastard. Also Jake Johnson Ron Livingston and cute as always Anna Kendrick. Great soundtrack as well-

Drinking-buddies_9

Other reviews of this film: Weapon X (8/10) , drzeek (6/10) > Display all
JohnLocke2342
JohnLocke2342 at 11:47 AM Apr 09

quality flick

Laksmikanti
Laksmikanti at 12:48 PM Apr 09

I was soooooo waiting for you to see this movie, so we can share the love for the soundtrack, CAYUCAS IS AWESOME. I loved it so very much.

They didn't have any script, every single dialogue was improvised.

Invidtus
Invidtus at 02:59 PM Apr 09

^ you are a music goddess and that ain't no lie-

Read all 5 comments >>

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 6 months ago

Prince Avalanche



Prince_avalanche_xxlg

Directed by: David Green
Written by: David Green
Cast: Paul Rudd, Emile Hirsch
Studio: Road House Pictures
Genre: Independent
Official Site:
Plot: In the wake of a massive 1987 forest fire in Texas, road worker Alvin and his step brother Lance repaint road lines-

Review:

From the brain of David Gordon Green (Pineapple Express, Eastbound And Down), with Prince Avalanche Green fuses comedy with an almost Terrence Malick like appreciation of the nature around us. Rudd and Hirsch are terrific as pretty much the only characters in the film, especially Rudd who gets to shine in a dramatic light showing that expression and body movements can speak volumes. Also Lance LeGault as the truck driver who keeps loading them up with drinks is hilarious. Fantastic soundtrack which I'm ordering off Amazon asap. A subtle gem of a movie-

Prince-avalanche-emile-hirsch-paul-rudd-magnolia-pictures

Other reviews of this film: cerealkiller182 (3/10) , TheHorrorfan (8/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 07:12 PM Mar 22

Nice review. I hope to see this soon I really like Paul Rudd and Emile Hirsch.

Cochise
Cochise at 08:22 PM Mar 22

cool cool, love both of the leads so I'm there

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 8 months ago

The Iceman



Iceman-movie-poster

Directed by: Ariel Vromen
Written by: Morgan Land
Cast: Ray Liotta, Elias Koteas, Michael Shannon, Benicio Del Toro, Winona Ryder, James Franco, Chris Evans, David Schwimmer, Danny Abeckaser
Studio: Millennium Films
Genre: Biography, Crime, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: The story of contract killer and devoted father Richard Kuklinski-

Review:

Between Take Shelter and this film who does Michael Shannon have to kill for some big name recognition. Shannon walks through the middle of this film with quiet centrifugal force, surrounded by some of the best supporting acting I've ever seen by Winona Ryder, Ray Liotta, Robert Davi, David Schwimmer (seriously)and Chris Evans in a mesmerizingly charming and psychopathic role. Now if you'll excuse me I have to upload Heart Of Glass from YouTube-

The-iceman

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (8/10) , cerealkiller182 (6/10) > Display all
Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 9 months ago

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug



Hobbit-smaug-char-7

Directed by: Peter Jackson
Written by: Peter Jackson
Cast: Ian McKellen, Martin Freeman, Saoirse Ronan, Cate Blanchett, Richard Armitage, Orlando Bloom, Elijah Wood, Hugo Weaving, Christopher Lee, Andy Serkis, James Nesbitt, Aidan Turner, Jed Brophy, Rob Kazinsky, Ken Stott, Benedict Cumberbatch
Studio: Warner Bros.
Genre: Adventure, Fantasy
Official Site: www.thehobbit.com
Plot: There's gold in them thar hills-

Review:

* SPOILER ALERT * The scene where Martin Freeman has dropped the ring and more out of annoyance and longing for the ring than fear he kills a giant spider in his way is one of the best acted scenes in the entire series. It could not have ended on a better cut. Benedict Cumberbatch voices a great Smaug. Beorn should have been more fleshed out as a character.Evangeline was evlishly hot. Luke Evans as Bard, acting out of necessity and fear for the safety of his children was terrific. 8/10-

Bard-the-bowman-luke-evans-the-hobbit-desolation-of-smaug-poster

Other reviews of this film: JohnLocke2342 (9/10) , razgriz21 (9/10) > Display all
JohnLocke2342
JohnLocke2342 at 07:30 AM Dec 22

That Freeman scene was definitely a standout and one of my favorite scenes in the entire series dude. Bard as well was a much needed addition of a flawed, deeply scarred character.. I loved him. This review is short and perfect haha

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 10 months ago

Pain and Gain



Pain-and-gain-teaser-poster

Directed by: Michael Bay
Written by: Christopher Markus
Cast: Mark Wahlberg, Dwayne Johnson, Ed Harris, Tony Shalhoub, Anthony Mackie, Rob Corddry, Ken Jeong
Studio: Platinum Dunes
Genre: Action, Thriller
Official Site: www.painandgainmovie.com
Plot: 3 dumbass weightlifters kidnap Monk and torture him with sex toys. Hilarity ensues-

Review:

Michael Bay's homage to Fargo (cough) wasn't quite as bad as I expected, mostly due to any scene that the Rock was in plus the few glimpses of the extremely hot but sorely underused Yolanthe Cabau. This also easily could have been trimmed down by 15 minutes IMO. Ed Harris does a nice paycheck appearance as Ed Harris. A plane passes over a building Michael Bay style. But at least nobody yelled OPTIMUS-

Yolanthe_cabau_2

Other reviews of this film: Princessofhorror2012 (7/10) , drzeek (7/10) > Display all
Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 year ago

Blue Valentine



Blue-valentine-poster

Directed by: Derek Cianfrance
Written by: Derek Cianfrance, Joey Curtis, Cami Delavigne
Cast: Ryan Gosling, Michelle Williams, Mike Vogel, John Doman, Faith Wladyka
Studio: The Weinstein Company
Genre: Drama, Romance
Official Site:
Plot: Dean and Cindy (Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams) can literally see their feeings for each other disintigrate-

Review:

Mother-fucking emotion-

Bluevalentine

Other reviews of this film: Hal2001 (6/10) , Gemma_ (7/10) > Display all
jimmydevito
jimmydevito at 10:20 PM Jul 24

Amazing film but fuck it sure takes a lot out of you

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 year ago

Stoker



Stoker_everyone-together-posterppp

Directed by: Chan-wook Park
Written by: Wentworth Miller
Cast: Mia Wasikowska, Matthew Goode, Nicole Kidman, Dermot Mulroney, Jacki Weaver, Lucas Till, Alexa Nikolas, Alden Ehrenreich, Jill Headrick
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Genre: Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: After the sudden death of their husband and father, mother Evelyn (Nicole Kidman) and daughter India (Mia Wasikowska) Stoker are visited by Uncle Charlie (Mathtew Goode), who adeptly incorporates himself into the dysfunctional household-

Review:

A visual and dark stunner of a film, this along with Mud are easliy my favorites of 2013 to date. Matthew Goode deserves some serious (and way overdue) recognition, which is nothing new. Mia Wasikowska puts in a fierce performance that borders on the possessed. Kidman always delivers as far as I'm concerned. This is easily one of the most beautifully shot films I've seen in ages. Just wow-

Tumblr_ml80hnmcoy1qzdglao1_1280

Other reviews of this film: drzeek (8/10) , OldKingClancy (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 11:23 PM Jun 24

Great review. I need to check this out.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 1 year ago

Elephant



2003-elephant-2

Directed by: Gus Van Sant
Written by: Gus Van Sant
Cast: Eric Deulen, Alex Frost, John Robinson, Timothy Bottoms, Elias McConnell, Matt Malloy
Studio: New Line Cinema
Genre: Drama
Official Site:
Plot: Gus Van Sant's ruminations about Columbine-

Review:

My computer is freezing like a bastard so 9/10. One of my favorite films of 2003-

Tumblr_lfnz8zjft01qgn0juo1_500

Other reviews of this film: Maugrim24 (9/10) , darkvampire (2/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 12:02 AM Jun 16

Lol, well I don't trust those imdb commenters anyway! 9 or 1 - lol how does that even happen?

Invidtus
Invidtus at 12:14 AM Jun 16

That's Gus Van Sant all right-

Glinda
Glinda at 12:41 AM Jun 16

Well in that case really hope I'm not a 1. lol

Read all 9 comments >>

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 1 year ago

Smokin' Aces



2007-smokin_aces-1

Directed by: Joe Carnahan
Written by: Joe Carnahan
Cast: Ben Affleck, Andy Garcia, Ryan Reynolds, Alicia Keys, David Proval, Chris Pine, Kevin Durand
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Thriller
Official Site: www.smokinaces.net
Plot: Assassins go to Lake Tahoe to kill a selfish douchebag (Jeremy Piven). Bullets ensue-

Review:

I put off watching this for 7 years. I'm a huge fan of Joe Carnahan's earlier movie Narc and this just seemed like a stylistic scattered mess from my perception. And it kind of is. But it was free on my PVR so what the hell. First off, Chris Pine was the coolest person in this movie hands down. Alicia Keys didn't really do anything except put on a sexy wig and dissapear as a loose thread in the studly arms of rap star Common. The Ray Liotta elevator gun fight was cool. We found out what happens to Chucky (Ben Affleck) from Good Will Hunting. I never really cared whether they killed Jeremy Piven. Ryan Reynolds was intense, sometimes a little too much. And sexy as hell. Why was Peter Berg there at all ??? I think I'll skip the sequel that I understand exists and watch The Grey instead-

Smokin-aces-chris-pine-1193181_1680_1050

Other reviews of this film: elliott smith (9/10) , KcMsterpce (1/10) > Display all
Scotch
Scotch at 03:41 PM Jun 09

Fun movie and a ridiculously awesome cast!

Pat Hatfreet
Pat Hatfreet at 04:43 PM Jun 09

I remember really liking it the first and only time I saw it. It was also cool to see Nestor Carbonell and Matthew Fox outside of "Lost" at that time.

Rawzombie
Rawzombie at 10:42 PM Jun 09

Good flick.

Invidtus posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 1 year ago

Go



1999-poster-go-1

Directed by: Doug Liman
Written by: John August
Cast: William Fichtner, J.E. Freeman, Katie Holmes, Breckin Meyer, Jay Mohr, Timothy Olyphant, Sarah Polley, Scott Wolf, Desmond Askey, Taye Diggs, Jane Krakowski, James Duval
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: Plot lines intersect over orange juice, ecstasy, bad judgement, Las Vegas, and Confederated Products-

Review:

The 90's kid brother movie to Pulp Fiction directed by Doug Liman (Swingers, The Bourne Identity, Mr. and Mrs. Smith). A huge casr including Sarah Polley, Taye Diggs, Katie Holmes, Jay Mohr, Scott Wolf, Timothy Olyphant (awesome), and WIlliam Fichtner and Jane Krakowski as married police officers who are more interested in selling Confederated Products than catching criminals. Also one of the best soundtracks the 1990's ever produced-

Tumblr_loshykjgal1qggtabo1_500

Waking Life
Waking Life at 07:03 PM Jun 08

haha i love this movie! Rewatched it a coupla months back! Yes Timothy Olyphant is awesome as always! That scene where the hotel room burns down + tantric sex kills me.

Glinda
Glinda at 07:56 PM Jun 08

Well this is a must for me tonight. I ordered it to stream. Somehow another one I missed in the 90s.

Tee-ads-mfc2 JoBlo.com Arrow in the Head Movie Hotties JoBlo Videos