Watch the intro video!
Image_cdfd7f927
July 2014
SMTWTFS
293012345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829303112

Age
25

Sex
Male

Relationship Status
Single

Location
Illinois - Chicago Area (USA)

Work/School
Administrative Coordinator

Links
Twitter
Facebook

Chat
AIM: andycfd


106 friends > See all
What's this?

Fan of 0 items > See all
Requiem for a Dream
#1 Movie of All-Time
There's Something About Mary
#1 Comedy
Casino Royale
#1 Action
Minority Report
#1 Sci-Fi
The Blair Witch Project
#1 Horror
Up
#1 Animated
Keira Knightley
#1 Hottie
Anton chigurh
#1 Movie Character
... View the rest.
dsloy
Offline
Badge_02 Badge_03 Badge_07
Finally saw Snowpiercer, i loved the story and evans and swinton were really good, however a lot of the dialogue is hard to understand, and some of the CGI is pretty bad, way worse than a movie this scale should have, some things arent really explained either, but overall i still had a good time
TOTAL POSTS
1,004 Posts
Super Schmoe
View all reviews
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: almost 3 years ago

Red State



Red-state-teaser-poster

Directed by: Kevin Smith
Written by: Kevin Smith
Cast: Michael Parks, Kyle Gallner, John Goodman, Melissa Leo, Michael Angarano, Kevin Pollak, Stephen Root
Studio: View Askew Productions
Genre: Horror
Official Site: www.coopersdell.com
Plot:

Review:

There's no hiding that I have been eagerly anticipating this film for a long time and followed its production every step of the way, being a big kevin smith fan and a big horror fan as well. I know the public conception of smith (and for the most part from smith himself) is that he is more of a writer and not really a director, but I had always thought he had some good directorial skills and a decent visual style, mainly evident in dogma and to a lesser extent zack and miri and clerks 2, and so while red state was proclaimed to be by many a huge step forward as a director, it didn't come as that much of a shock to me, and the look and tone is certainly the strong point of red state, smith does a good job of creating a claustrophobic and creepy atmosphere in the church and it has a very rough/raw look, which helps in creating several suspenseful scenes, also the climatic scene gave me goosebumps with how grand and apocalyptic it is, the weakness of red state however, is what usually is the strong point of smith's films: the writing, i think the story had great potential, but it feels too rushed, and he tries to fit too much into a 90 min film, many characters hardly feel developed cuz theyre only on screen sometimes for just a few moments before dying, i didnt have a problem...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: filmguy450 (10/10) , drzeek (8/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 4 years ago

Edge of Darkness



Edgeofdarkness-quad

Directed by: Martin Campbell
Written by: William Monahan
Cast: Mel Gibson, Ray Winstone, Danny Huston
Studio: Warner Bros.
Genre: Drama
Official Site: edge-of-darkness.warnerbros.com
Plot:

Review:

good to see mel back in action again, high production values on hand here, with location shooting which i always like, the tone is very melancholic, and mel is very good here, along with the rest of the cast, especially ray winstone, whos brilliant here, huston is solid as always, the overall plot was pretty interesting, i did hav some quibbles tho, i wish they did more with rays character, theres some things i think the boston pd wouldve thought to do, but they didnt, and a few plot points were a bit confusing, overall a very solid film and i hope to see more mel in the future

Other reviews of this film: MattSlash (7/10) , Rogue428 (8/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 4 years ago

Date Night



Date-night-poster1

Directed by: Shawn Levy
Written by: Josh Klausner
Cast: Steve Carell, Tina Fey, Mark Wahlberg, Kristen Wiig, Taraji P. Henson, William Fichtner, Common, Leighton Meester, Mark Ruffalo, Mila Kunis, James Franco
Studio: Fox
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.datenight-movie.com
Plot:

Review:

enjoyable comedy, due mainly in part to the two leads, i almost say i like phil and claire foster more than michael scott and liz lemon (who can get a bit annoying at times) they have great chemistry here and are fun to watch, the supporting players are good too, especially franco and kunis, common actually has more than 3 lines in this film, olivia munn is pretty much wasted tho, as is ray liotta, fichther at least gave up all dignity in his role, maybe not a lot of big laughs, but a big amount of littler laughs, still a good time tho

Other reviews of this film: King Of Cinema (7/10) , MattSlash (7/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 4 years ago

Hot Tub Time Machine



Hot-tub-time-machine-poster

Directed by: Steve Pink
Written by: Josh Heald
Cast: John Cusack, Rob Corddry, Lizzy Caplan, Crispin Glover, Craig Robinson, Clark Duke, Chevy Chase, Lyndsy Fonseca, Collette Wolfe
Studio: MGM
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.kicksomepast.com
Plot:

Review:

better than youd initially think it to be, but not as funny as the reviews have made it out to be, theres a few funny parts, mainly from corddry and crispin glovers subplot, but still not a whole lotta laughs, i admit tho i do like the premise as a whole, and i couldnt help but enjoy the whole patheticness of the characters and just the absurdity of it all

Other reviews of this film: King Of Cinema (6/10) , BakeTheMooCow (6/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 4 years ago

Get Him to the Greek



Get-him-to-the-greek-poster

Directed by: Nicholas Stoller
Written by: Nicholas Stoller
Cast: Jonah Hill, Russell Brand, Sean Combs, Rose Byrne, Elisabeth Moss
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.gethimtothegreek.com
Plot:

Review:

some funny parts to be sure, but nowhere as good as forgetting sarah marshall, its funny to see p diddy just act crazy, but the story kinda just meanders, feels like it was cut quite a bit, and the film's many "messages" if you will, seem muddled and appear to contradict themselves

Other reviews of this film: JoBlo (7/10) , tbondrage99 (7/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Watchmen



2009-watchmen-1

Directed by: Zack Snyder
Written by: David Hayter, Alex Tse
Cast: Patrick Wilson, Billy Crudup, Jackie Earle Haley, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Malin Akerman, Matthew Goode
Studio: Warner Bros.
Genre: Thriller
Official Site: www.watchmenmovie.com
Plot:

Review:

The only film I looked forward to with more anticipation was The Dark Knight and that was able to meet my expectations. Did it happen again here? Yes and how. I haven't read the graphic novel and was glad I didn't. I was able to appreciate the film for what it was and not know what was going to happen next. I was engrossed throughout, it was a very original captivating story. All the acting was very good, especially Haley and Morgan. It was also wonderful just to watch, the cinematography and visual effects were amazing. The music and songs were (mostly) good fits. I know the ending was changed, but I was very content with how this ended. An experience without a doubt. So which is better Dark Knight or this? Hard to say, so different...

Other reviews of this film: HoyleHaw (7/10) , KcMsterpce (4/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Ong Bak 2



2009-ong_bak_two-1

Directed by: Tony Jaa, Panna Rittikrai
Written by: Nonthakorn Thaweesuk, Ek Iemchuen
Cast: Tony Jaa
Studio: Magnet Releasing
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.ongbaktwo.com
Plot:

Review:

I slept through like half of this, the plot half that is. So I had no clue really what was going on, but I managed to stay awake through the action scenes, which are kick ass. Its amazing to watch Tony jaa do all the stunts by himself w/o cgi. If youre into martial arts action and like tony jaa films, you won't be disappointed

Other reviews of this film: Movie Nerd (6/10) , Hubbs (9/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

I Love You, Man



2009-i_love_you_man-1

Directed by: John Hamburg
Written by: John Hamburg
Cast: Paul Rudd, Jason Segel, Andy Samberg, Rashida Jones, Jaime Pressly, Jon Favreau
Studio: DreamWorks
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.iloveyoumanmovie.com
Plot:

Review:

Pleasant enjoyable comedy with very likable cast. Rudd is likable, Segel is hilarious, Favreau and pressly have funny banter, rashida jones is absolutely adorable and warm hearted, i hope she becomes a leading lady. It manages to be funny without being mean. I also love the lou ferrigno stuff.

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (8/10) , rockyjr (7/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Pontypool



Pontypool-poster

Directed by: Bruce McDonald
Written by: Tony Burgess
Cast: Stephen McHattie, Lisa Houle, Hrant Alianak, Georgina Reilly
Studio: IFC Films
Genre: Horror
Official Site:
Plot:

Review:

I was really looking forward to this going in, and for the first half or so it delivered. It had 3 interesting characters and a dark suspenseful tone. It managed to create scares without showing anything but radio voices. However once the explanation is revealed it becomes ridiculous, its full of holes and characters start doing questionable actions. Became just downright frustrating by the end. Had so much potential...

Other reviews of this film: J.A_Hamilton (9/10) , MattSlash (5/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Adventureland



Adventureland-1

Directed by: Greg Mottola
Written by: Greg Mottola
Cast: Jesse Eisenberg, Ryan Reynolds, Kristen Stewart, Martin Starr, Bill Hader, Kristen Wiig
Studio: Miramax
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.adventurelandthefilm.com
Plot:

Review:

A lot different than I thought it would be, being just as much a drama as a comedy, maybe even more so. It worked better for me as a drama, as I didn't really laugh a lot except for Bill Hader, but was really caught up in the main character's troubles. Give credit to Eisenberg who gives another fine performance after Squid and Whale. Reynolds gives a surprisingly darker performance and Starr's character had more depth than I thought. Stewart is good too. Very good

Other reviews of this film: MattSlash (4/10) , cerealkiller182 (8/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Drag Me To Hell



Drag-me-to-hell-poster

Directed by: Sam Raimi
Written by: Sam Raimi, Ivan Raimi
Cast: Alison Lohman, Justin Long, Lorna Raver, Jessica Lucas, David Paymer, Dileep Rao
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Horror
Official Site: www.dragmetohell.net
Plot:

Review:

Doesn't go for slow gradual mounting suspense, rather in your face shock gross scares, and in that it succeeds. I was jumping in my seat many a time. Lohan and Long are very convincing in the leads, I was rooting for her to make it out alive. At times, the dialogue was a bit simplistic, a recurring theme in films Raimi writes. Still a fun film

Other reviews of this film: Crazy Dud (6/10) , KcMsterpce (9/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Observe and Report



2009-observe_and_report-1

Directed by: Jody Hill
Written by: Jody Hill
Cast: Seth Rogen, Anna Faris, Ray Liotta, Michael Pena, Patton Oswalt
Studio: Warner Bros.
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: observe-and-report.warnerbros.com
Plot:

Review:

Don't see films like this everyday. Breaks about almost every rule that comedies should follow, taking no prisoners. Its outrageous and over the top. While I didnt laugh a whole lot, I had to admire that it didnt play it safe and admire the audacity of it all

Other reviews of this film: Crazy Dud (5/10) , HoyleHaw (8/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

The Hurt Locker



2009-hurt_locker-1

Directed by: Kathryn Bigelow
Written by: Mark Boal
Cast: Ralph Fiennes, David Morse, Evangeline Lilly, Guy Pearce, Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty
Studio: Summit Entertainment
Genre: Drama
Official Site: www.thehurtlocker-movie.com
Plot:

Review:

Best Iraq war film I've seen, due in part because it focuses on the 3 main characters and what they do, rather than military strategy. It was interesting and entertaining watching all the the things the bomb guys have to go through. Got pretty suspenseful at times too. The 3 leads are really good and Pearce and Fiennes give memorable cameos. Moves fast despite kinda long runtime

Other reviews of this film: lukearmy7 (1/10) , KcMsterpce (9/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

The Haunting in Connecticut



2009-haunting_in_connecticut-1

Directed by: Peter Cornwell
Written by:
Cast: Virginia Madsen, Brooklynn Proulx, Elias Koteas, Kyle Gallner, Martin Donovan
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Horror, Thriller
Official Site: www.hauntinginconnecticut.com
Plot:

Review:

I know a lot of people were hating on this, and I can see why, but I've always been kinder to horror films. I liked this one cuz I liked how they developed the characters and the cancer subplot. Madsen and Koteas are especially good. The scares are all in the shock variety, but it created an overall sense of dread near the end. Didn't really like the ending but if its a true story what are ya gonna do. wish they wouldve done more with the aunt? or whatever the other girl was

Other reviews of this film: MattSlash (6/10) , TheChanges23 (6/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

The Haunting in Connecticut



2009-haunting_in_connecticut-1

Directed by: Peter Cornwell
Written by:
Cast: Virginia Madsen, Brooklynn Proulx, Elias Koteas, Kyle Gallner, Martin Donovan
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Horror, Thriller
Official Site: www.hauntinginconnecticut.com
Plot:

Review:

I know a lot of people were hating on this, and I can see why, but I've always been kinder to horror films. I liked this one cuz I liked how they developed the characters and the cancer subplot. Madsen and Koteas are especially good. The scares are all in the shock variety, but it created an overall sense of dread near the end. Didn't really like the ending but if its a true story what are ya gonna do. wish they wouldve done more with the aunt? or whatever the other girl was

Other reviews of this film: MattSlash (6/10) , TheChanges23 (6/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Star Trek



Poster-startrek-1

Directed by: J.J. Abrams
Written by: Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci
Cast: John Cho, Ben Cross, Bruce Greenwood, Simon Pegg, Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Winona Ryder, Zoe Saldana, Karl Urban, Anton Yelchin, Eric Bana, Leonard Nimoy
Studio: Paramount
Genre: Science Fiction
Official Site: www.startrekmovie.com
Plot:

Review:

Had high expectations going in and they were met. Mind you I never watched any of the old films or the TV series, but I liked the direction this film was taking ie less camp more serious, younger cast. the cast was great, everyone was really good, kirk, spock, old spock, uhuru, sulu, bones, except that lil shit anton yelchin annoyed the hell out of me. I cant stand him. Bana was good as the villain. Lots people complained about plot holes about time travel but they werent blatant and thus didnt bother me. since this was the first in the series, I didnt get as many crew interactions as i wouldve liked, thats why im ready for a sequel.

Other reviews of this film: Monotreme (7/10) , Crazy Dud (8/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Terminator Salvation



2009-terminator_salvation-1

Directed by: McG
Written by: Michael Ferris, John Brancato
Cast: Christian Bale, Sam Worthington, Anton Yelchin, Moon Bloodgood, Bryce Dallas Howard, Common
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Action, Science-Fiction
Official Site: www.terminatorsalvation.com
Plot:

Review:

I like the overall premise of setting it in the future and not in the present. Bale is probably the best choice for the role of Connor and he does a good job, but the real surprise is Worthington, he's great as Marcus, he was a really strong character and the audience in the theater seemed to like him. Yelchin didnt suck that bad as Reese, not as bad as Star Trek. And whats with this trend of just having Common stand there not saying anything, give him some damn lines already, and more than just one at a time grrrrr
Pretty good action, though it tool precedence over story, still better than t3

Other reviews of this film: bsquared318 (7/10) , MistAh BlistAh (8/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

The Hangover



2009-hangover-1

Directed by: Todd Phillips
Written by: Jon Lucas, Scott Moore, Todd Phillips, Jeremy Garelick
Cast: Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifianakis, Heather Graham, Justin Bartha, Jeffrey Tambor
Studio: Warner Bros.
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: hangovermovie.warnerbros.com/
Plot:

Review:

Hilarious comedy that succeeds not only in having a huge amount of laughs, but having a pretty involving story, I wanted to know what would happen. Galifinakis is the star of this and deserves all the praise hes been getting. Hes so funny. I did think Helms' character got a bit annoying with all the sarcastic pessimism. I didn't mind Cooper in the lead, thought he did all right. Love the pics at the end

Other reviews of this film: VANDY PRICE (9/10) , bsquared318 (9/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Whatever Works



2009-whatever_works-1

Directed by: Woody Allen
Written by: Woody Allen
Cast: Larry David, Evan Rachel Wood, Henry Cavill, Patricia Clarkson, Ed Begley Jr.
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.sonyclassics.com/whateverworks/
Plot:

Review:

enjoyable film, with an excellent performance by wood, shes sucj a nice likable pretty person in this, i would say its oscar worthy, never loses the accent either. David is good too, Im glad he was picked and not woody himself, woody couldnt pull off mean the way LD does, the line readings dont sound false either. The 2 have great chemistry together and provide some great laughs. wish mckean had more to do tho

Other reviews of this film: Rumpelstiltskin (10/10) , DannyXander (4/10) > Display all
dsloy posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 4 years ago

Public Enemies



Public_enemies-1

Directed by: Michael Mann
Written by: Michael Mann, Ann Biderman, Ronan Bennett
Cast: Johnny Depp, Christian Bale, Marion Cotillard, Giovanni Ribisi, Stephen Dorff, Jason Clarke, David Wenham, Stephen Graham
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Biography, Crime, Thriller
Official Site: www.publicenemies.net/
Plot:

Review:

A letdown to be sure, that's not to say it's all bad. Some sequences are well executed, both action and non action. I liked the attention to detail and the music and it's fast moving and entertaining. Depp is a great actor and engaging to watch. However, we don't get to know any of the supporting characters really, especially dillingers gang, hence i couldnt follow who was who and what was going on. also i couldnt hear what was sed half the time, either the sound was bad or the actors were mumbling. i liked stephen langs character and wish he had a bigger role. i get the feeling several cuts were made to this. also the shakicam gets annoting. still a respectable effort

Other reviews of this film: bsquared318 (7/10) , VANDY PRICE (8/10) > Display all
Tee-ads-mfc2 JoBlo.com Arrow in the Head Movie Hotties JoBlo Videos