Watch the intro video!
Image_145ee5ad4
July 2014
SMTWTFS
293012345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829303112

Age
27

Sex
Male

Relationship Status
Single

Location
Massachusetts (USA)

Work/School
Accounts Payable

Links
Homepage
Twitter


217 friends > See all
What's this?

Fan of 17 items > See all
Image_b260d3a1a
Pulp Fiction
#1 Movie of All-Time
O Brother, Where Art Thou
#1 Comedy
Die Hard
#1 Action
Moon
#1 Sci-Fi
Dawn of the Dead
#1 Horror
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
#1 Romance
The Big Lebowski
#1 Stoner
The Iron Giant
#1 Animated
Pan's Labyrinth
#1 Fantasy
40 Year Old Virgin
#1 Romantic Comedy
Sam Rockwell
#1 Actor
Charlize Theron
#1 Actress
The Coen Brothers
#1 Director
Emma Watson
#1 Hottie
Indiana Jones
#1 Movie Character
... View the rest.
cerealkiller182
Online
Badge_01 Badge_02 Badge_03 Badge_07 Badge_08
D23 Expo (the Disney convention) is in a few weeks. I think that is where the Marvel footage leaks come from usually
TOTAL POSTS
11,657 Posts
KING Of All Schmoes
View all reviews
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 10 days ago

The Lego Movie



Lego-movie-poster

Directed by: Phil Lord
Written by: Phil Lord
Cast: Liam Neeson, Will Ferrell, Chris Pratt, Alison Brie, Nick Offerman, Morgan Freeman, Elizabeth Banks, Will Arnett
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Action, Adventure, Animation, Family
Official Site: www.thelegomovie.com
Plot: A mild-mannered worker bee finds out he is a messiah

Review:

The Lego Movie is a super cute adventure about a Lego man, played by the very funny Chris Pratt, living in a Lego world. He struggles making a mark in the world when he inadvertently becomes a messiah to a Lego rebellion. A number of the Lego people, including some trademark characters like Batman, are trying to take down a bureaucrat emperor who wants everything built according to the plans instead of allowing for creativity. It is a useful message in a world obsessed with homogenizing everything. I truly believe children (and most adults) need to learn the benefits of creativity.

The cast also includes Elizabeth Banks at her most cute, Morgan Freeman as a good-humored wiseman, Charlie Day as an over-excited spaceman, Will Ferrell as the over-the-top villain, and Will Arnett killing it was a parody of Batman, so much so, I would be totally open to him voicing the character in a less comedic project.

Also a really awesome twist in the end that I will not spoil.

Other reviews of this film: wallcrawler383 (9/10) , oscarxp25 (7/10) > Display all
Anakin
Anakin at 01:23 PM Jul 20

This will be a blind buy for me.

Glinda
Glinda at 06:40 PM Jul 20

Nice review! Man I love this movie definitely need to see it again.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 12 days ago

Snowpiercer



Snowpiercer-poster4

Directed by: Joon-ho Bong
Written by: Joon-ho Bong
Cast: Chris Evans
Studio: Opus Pictures
Genre: Action, Comic Book, Science-Fiction
Official Site:
Plot: When the world falls into a new ice age, the surviving humans take refuge inside of a train. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/18/movie-review-snowpiercer/

Review:

I have heard so many different descriptions of this movie...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (4/10) , AlmostFamous91 (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 03:24 PM Jul 18

Great review.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 15 days ago

Bad Words



Poster-bad-words

Directed by: Jason Bateman
Written by: Andrew Dodge
Cast: Jason Bateman, Allison Janney, Kathryn Hahn, Philip Hall
Studio: Darko Entertainment
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: An adult sleazes his way into a children's spelling bee competition.

Review:

Jason Bateman plays Guy Tribil, a 40 year old underachiever who has found a loophole that allows him to compete in a youth spelling bee. He is an absolute asshole, and Jason Bateman makes him a pleasure to watch. Jason makes the dialog of this movie his bitch, spitting out mile an hour snarky comments making them sound like he came up with them right there on the spot.

He is followed by a report played by Kathryn Hahn who is fitting the bill for his entrance fees and hotels. Guy has offered her his story of why he is doing this whole absurd plot in the first place. He teases her mercilessly though with his true intentions, never revealing them until the end. Too bad it isn't that interesting after all. That's ok though, because Jason is so much fun to watch.

They really should have focused more on him doing crazy things with his pint sized hotel neighbor, Chopra. The idea of an asshole's POV of what a child should do while he is young has plenty of room for some hilarious darkness. While the 2 get into plenty of trouble, the flick takes a turn into competitive drama pretty quickly.

Other reviews of this film: darqjade (7/10) , oscarxp25 (6/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 07:38 PM Jul 15

Nice review, I just bought this today and am looking forward to it. Nice to see Bateman in a role like this.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 15 days ago

Transcendence



Transcendence-poster

Directed by: Wally Pfister
Written by: Jack Paglen
Cast: Johnny Depp, Paul Bettany, Kate Mara, Rebecca Hall, Morgan Freeman, Cillian Murphy, Cory Hardrict
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Drama, Science-Fiction
Official Site:
Plot: A leading expert in AI has his mind implanted in a machine after an assassination attempt

Review:

Boy! This was disappointing.

Johnny Depp tries his hand at his first normal dude in a long time. He definitely sort of has a rock star techie innovator thing going for him before he enters the computer. After he does, he is pretty much a tone deaf voice. We barely get to see him before he ends up in the machine, that any chemistry that has won Rebecca Hall or befriended many of the others is missing completely.

There's a lot of big ideas with small executions. Its a pretty by-the-numbers look at tech-dependency. No one will claim they aren't useful or practical, but too much and we might lose our individuality. In the end, its attempts to be ambiguous about the bigger ideas actually makes the movie seem like it is clueless instead of undecided.

It's too bad because there are some really pretty special effects.

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (6/10) , cobb (1/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 15 days ago

Sabotage



Sabotage_updated

Directed by: David Ayer
Written by: Skip Woods
Cast: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sam Worthington, Terrence Howard, Mireille Enos, Max Martini, Olivia Williams, Josh Holloway, Joe Manganiello
Studio: Open Road Films
Genre: Action, Crime
Official Site:
Plot: A DEA squad is hunted by a mystery assassin after they steal money from one of their busts

Review:

Goddammit, I love Arnold. I don't think he has, as an individual, ever lost a step since his hiatus from the biz. His comic timing, his ability to know when and where to chew the scenery and when to hold back, and his overall ability to just kickass is primed and ready for a bigtime comeback...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Frosty_86 (7/10) , razgriz21 (8/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 21 days ago

Willow Creek



Willow_creek_theatrical_poster

Directed by: Bobcat Goldthwait
Written by: Bobcat Goldthwait
Cast: Alexie Gilmore, Bryce Johnson
Studio:
Genre: Horror
Official Site:
Plot: With help from his girlfriend, Kelly, Jim tries to make a documentary about Bigfoot, hoping to find him in the process. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/10/movie-review-willow-creek/

Review:

Ever since becoming a filmmaker, comedian Bobcat Goldthwait has played to a particular strength, comedy. His comedies have been much darker and more dramatic then his usual stand up or acting work, but this movie is completely different. It is a found footage horror movie. Found footage is a pretty limited style of doing horror movie. It became popular for its inherently low budgets, as well as the illusion first founded by Blair Witch Project, that what we are seeing are actual events rather than some obvious piece of fiction. From there, the style has digressed to cheap attempts at recapturing the magic of Blair Witch, which to be honest I didn’t find that memorable to begin with. Willow Creek definitely comes the closest...[more]...

MonsterZeroNJ
MonsterZeroNJ at 03:53 PM Jul 09

Cool. Was curious about this.

timmyd
timmyd at 06:23 PM Jul 09

Nice to know. I've still yet to see this , but I'm definitely going to.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 26 days ago

They Came Together



They-came-together-poster

Directed by: David Wain
Written by: David Wain
Cast: Paul Rudd, Amy Poehler, Cobie Smulders, Jeffrey Morgan, Michael Shannon, Adam Scott, Christopher Meloni, Ellie Kemper, John Stamos, Bill Hader, Luke Greenfield, Jack McBrayer, Ed Helms
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: A big corporate stooge falls for the quirky small business woman. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/05/movie-review-they-came-together/

Review:

Thanks to the likes of Christopher Guest, Mel Brooks, and Zucker, Abrahams, and Zucker, parody used to be one of my favorite subgenres of comedy, but ever since Scary Movie, it has really imploded. Gone are witty subversions of genre staples replaced by a grab bag of barely rewritten lines and references thrown together in an unintelligible manner. Director David Wain’s cult favorite tear down of ’80s camp comedies, Wet Hot American Summer, has been one of the few great ones, so I sort of had high hopes...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Horrorfan99 (7/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 27 days ago

Only Lovers Left Alive



Only_lovers_left_alive_ver3_xlg

Directed by: Jim Jarmusch
Written by: Jim Jarmusch
Cast: Tilda Swinton, Tom Hiddleston, Anton Yelchin, Mia Wasikowska, John Hurt, Jeffrey Wright
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
Genre: Drama, Romance
Official Site:
Plot: Two separated immortal lovers are reunited after many years. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/04/movie-review-only-lover-left-alive/

Review:

I’m not scared of death. I mean, I’m not scared of being on the other side of the door, but I am scared that walking through that door will be painful. The scariest things of all though, or maybe depressing is the better word, is that after I am cold and buried there will always be more comics, more movies, and more TV shows being made that I will never be able to experience. I know that probably seems selfish and hollow, but for some reason, that thought just makes me instantly sick to my stomach...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: TreyTheMovieMan (9/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Joe



Joe-poster-final

Directed by: David Green
Written by: Gary Hawkins
Cast: Nicolas Cage, Tye Sheridan
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Drama
Official Site:
Plot: An ex-con finds himself as the unlikely role model to a 15 year old.

Review:

Nic Cage might be the least consistent actor in the industry. Sometimes he is award winning, sometimes he his a shit show. This leans more toward award winning thankfully. Not that he is that good in the movie, but he is much better. There was a very loose structure to the movie and seemed like there might have been some mumblecore like improv within the dialog. Cage seemed to struggle a little with that...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: AlmostFamous91 (6/10) , cobb (8/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

A Long Way Down



A_long_way_down_poster

Directed by: Pascal Chaumeil
Written by: Nick Hornby
Cast: Aaron Paul, Pierce Brosnan, Imogen Poots, Toni Collette
Studio: Magnolia
Genre: Comedy, Drama
Official Site: www.alongwaydownfilm.com
Plot: 4 people who meet right before committing suicide make a pact not to jump.

Review:

An ensemble made up some great actors: Breaking Bad's Aaron Paul, former Bond Pierce Brosnan, the underrated Toni Collette, and always adorable Imogen Poots.

Their chemistry is excellent. They balance sadness and humor so well together. They feed off each other's energy. There's always one of them ready to even out the rest of them. The problem is the movie likes to separate them too much. It likes to send them on their own adventures or sulk by themselves. That kind of annoyed me.

Despite how interesting they were, there reasons for killing themselves in the first place weren't nearly as interesting as I thought they would be. They seem a little simplified. Paul's end up being the most interesting, and how he dealt with it was the kind of emotional punch I was hoping for.

Its still a good time dramedy, I just wish it pushed the envelope just a tad more and played a few less games.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Robocop



Robocop-poster

Directed by: Jose Padilha
Written by: Nick Schenk
Cast: Michael K. Williams, Joel Kinnaman, Gary Oldman, Samuel L. Jackson, Michael Keaton, Abbie Cornish, Jackie Haley, Jay Baruchel, Jennifer Ehle, Marianne Jean-Baptiste
Studio: MGM
Genre: Action, Crime, Science-Fiction
Official Site:
Plot: Police officer Alex Murphy is killed in a hit and is resurrected as a cyborg drone.

Review:

AMC's The Killing was a giant disappointment, but if it did anything, it was introduce me to one of its stars, Joel Kinnaman, an actor I expect to see a lot more of. I think he more or less rocks it as Murphy, hot-shot before the suit, tragic and sad in it. Walking into it, if there was anything tht was going to make this movie seem more than just a retread of the 80s sci-fi classic, it was going to be him.

The other strength is that drone warfare is kind of a big deal right now. It's a big talking point and a pretty justified fear. They manipulate this through the cold (but humorful) CEO played by Michael Keaton and the fear-mongering news man played by Samuel L. Jackson. Both are a lot of fun to watch and are great satires of real life counters.

There is just still so much to the concept that they could have committed. The man in the machine vs the machine duality thing was just as good as the original. If you are going to replace the crime and dystopia of the first with drone warfare kind of stuff you can't skimp on it. At certain point, it just becomes an action movie about a man trying to get home, free and clear.

Robocop remake was valiant effort but it couldn't spin the ideas of the original enough to walk on its own.

Other reviews of this film: darqjade (6/10) , oscarxp25 (2/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Ping Pong Summer



Posternot_available

Directed by: Michael Tully
Written by: Michael Tully
Cast: Susan Sarandon, Lea Thompson, Amy Sedaris, Judah Friedlander
Studio: Millenium Entertainment
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: A city kid moves to the beach with his family for the summer

Review:

A ridiculously 80s movie about a hip-hop loving, wannabe breakdancing kid, who I shit you not is named Rad (technically Radford). He makes quick friends of an equally socially awkward black kid named Teddy, who acts like no one likes hip hop but them 2, as well as the sugar junkie local hottie. He also makes quick enemies of the sweater clad yuppie bad guy and his hetero-lifemate sidekick/hypeman. It would be a spoof if was at all funny.

Casting some first timers in the lead roles definitely does not pan out for director Michael Tully. The kids are just too inexperienced and too awkward on screen to root for.

The movie is really only good for a few oddball performances from some of the adults. Susan Sarandon plays the local cat-lady (so to speak). Everyone's scared of her and she revels in it. Meanwhile, Lea Thompson and John Hannah play a couple of likable sitcom parents.

I probably have a hard time appreciating this flick because I was born in 1986. My childhood years were in the 90s and my formative ones were in the 2000s. This movie just holds no nostalgia for me.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Trust Me



Trust-me_gregg-656

Directed by: Clark Gregg
Written by: Clark Gregg
Cast: Clark Gregg, Sam Rockwell, Allison Janney, Felicity Huffman, William Macy, Amanda Peet
Studio: Unified Pictures
Genre: Comedy, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: A struggling talent agent thinks he found the next big starlet http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/06/23/movie-review-trust-me/

Review:

Clark Gregg turned a lot of geeks heads with his surprising breakout role as Agent Coulson, who along with Samuel L. Jackson, was the glue that held the first phase of Marvel’s cinematic universe together. Before that, he got my attention as the director of Choke, a movie based on my favorite book (that sadly didn’t live up to the source material). Here he plays triple duty: screenwriter, director, and star...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: MrsData (7/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

The Angriest Man In Brooklyn



Posternot_available

Directed by: Phil Robinson
Written by: Daniel Taplitz
Cast: Robin Williams, Mila Kunis, Peter Dinklage, James Jones, Melissa Leo
Studio: Landscape Entertainment
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: The Angriest Man in Brooklyn is told he has 90 minutes to live even though he its not true.

Review:

He gets shit on a lot for his coked up hyperactivity, but I like Robin Williams. When he slows down and delivers dramatically, he has this almost British affectation that just makes everything sound really warm and nice. And at the same time, he is just a hawkeye for the funny bone. He just lands it, and if he doesn't, he'll talking until he finally get ya...[more]...

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

The Double



Poster-the-double-2014

Directed by: Richard Ayoade
Written by: Richard Ayoade
Cast: Jesse Eisenberg, Mia Wasikowska, Wallace Shawn, Noah Taylor, Rade Serbedzija, Cathy Moriarty, James Fox, Gemma Chan
Studio: Magnolia Pictures
Genre: Comedy, Drama, Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: An introverted guy meets an extrovert who looks identical to him.

Review:

I read recently that the use of Kafka-esque is used totally incorrect, that people just call weird shit Karkaesque but not all weird shit is. Sort of like how people refer to funny things as ironic sometimes. So hesitantly, I call this movie Kafkaesque.

In a world that could only have been dreamt up by Terry Gilliam, Richard Ayoade pieces together a dimly lit world of steampunk mechanisms for our poorly dressed hero (for lack of a better world) to navigate.

Jesse Eisenberg plays 2 guys. One guy is really timid, the other is really confident and daring. Everyone can tell them apart when they are standing next to each other, but when ever one pretends to be another, everyone is pretty baffled. The new guy basically cons his way into the first guy's life. There is a Tyler Durden sense to this new character, but they never really explain who he could be.

I wish I had more to say about the story. Some kind of interesting theory or intriguing ideas that got started. I don't really understand what was happening, but it was really cool anyway. Not like a real head-scratcher, just a compilation of cool ideas that actually ACTUALLY works. I don't know why.

Other reviews of this film: cobb (7/10) , Horrorfan99 (9/10) > Display all
queen bee
queen bee at 05:36 PM Jun 19

Must see this.Love Richard Ayoade just saw him in the great UK show The IT crowd.

Cochise
Cochise at 09:07 PM Jun 19

nice review, this one looked really intriguing. Yet another one I've had sitting here for a while now... was planning on doing a double-feature of this and Enemy haha

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

That Awkward Moment



That-awkward-moment

Directed by: Tom Gormican
Written by: Tom Gormican
Cast: Zac Efron, Miles Teller, Michael B. Jordan, Imogen Poots
Studio:
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: http://thatawkwardmomentmovie.tumblr.com/
Plot: When their buddy gets divorced, 2 friends swear off women only to find themselves in the healthiest, longest relationships of their lives

Review:

As a really big fan of Miles Teller, Michael B. Jordan, and Imogen Poots, there was no way I was missing it.

Even though it looked like a crappy romantic comedy (which it is) that they dump in the beginning of the year (which they did)...

Even though it stars Zack Efron who I really don't give a fuck about....

Even though it is mostly about antiquated gender roles and usual sappy romance exposition throughout the flick.....

... I wasn't going to miss it. It ended up not being that bad. Lots of good chemistry and comical circumstances to keep my interest.

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (5/10) > Display all
XSsoCX
XSsoCX at 05:18 PM Jun 19

I enjoyed this one as well.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

The Sacrament



Hr_the_sacrament_2

Directed by: Ti West
Written by: Ti West
Cast: Joe Swanberg, AJ Bowen, Amy Seimetz, Gene Jones
Studio: Magnet
Genre: Horror, Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: A documentary crew follows a friend to check on his sister who might be in a cult.

Review:

Ti West is a master manipulator and impressed me right out of the gate. Both The House of the Devil and The Innkeepers are some of the most memorable horror flicks in quite some time. Some how he is able to bring out tension in even the most monotonous moments. Nothing even that scary actually happens in those two movies, but I still found myself at the edge of my seat. That is pretty damn skillful. He continues that trend with this movie...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Horrorfan99 (6/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Blue Ruin



Blue_ruin_poster

Directed by: Jeremy Saulnier
Written by: Jeremy Saulnier
Cast: Macon Blair, Amy Hargreaves, Devin Ratray
Studio: Radius TWC
Genre: Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: An outsider comes back to his childhood home to carry out an act of vengeance.

Review:

Do you ever watch one of these vengeance movies and think, “Of course, they kidnap the daughter of a former secret agent turned overqualified bodyguard?” I always knew what my answer to that question was: because your average gas station attendant or bank manager doesn’t have the stones or the training to traverse the world, sleuth their way into an international human trafficking ring, and take out the former military unit protecting one of the richest guys on the Earth. Now, that’s a fucking movie. Certainly, better than some dumpy dad sitting on his hands, crying into his cereal bowl, while some cops fumble around trying to save the day...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: lukearmy7 (6/10) , Cochise (7/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

X-Men: Days of Future Past



Xmen_days_of_future_past_ver5_xlg

Directed by: Bryan Singer
Written by: Matthew Vaughn
Cast: Hugh Jackman, James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, January Jones, Caleb Jones, Nicholas Hoult, Rose Byrne, Jason Flemyng, Ian McKellen, Patrick Stewart, Peter Dinklage, Omar Sy
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comic Book
Official Site:
Plot: Wolverine is sent back in time by older Pr. X and Magneto to find their younger selves and stop their dark future.

Review:

Days of Future Past is based on a 2 part story of the same name. It was originally an adult Kitty Pryde who was sent back in time to her younger body to help the present day X-Men from stopping an assassination which would start a series of events. The movie takes some liberties with that setup though. In order to bridge the gap between the Patrick Stewart/Ian McKellan movies (X-Prime) and the James MacAvoy/Michael Fassbender (New X) casts, the ageless Wolverine is sent back to his body in the 70s...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (9/10) , Muta (8/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Filth



Filth_xlg

Directed by: Jon Baird
Written by: Jon Baird
Cast: James McAvoy, Imogen Poots, Jamie Bell, Eddie Marsan, Jim Broadbent
Studio: Steel Mill Pictures
Genre: Comedy, Crime, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: A strung out cop takes on a big case to prove himself for a promotion while sabotaging the competition.

Review:

Filth is 2 movies in one. It is a raunchy workplace comedy about cops, and it is a trippy murder mystery.

As a workplace comedy, it is hysterical. James MacAvoy plays the junkie cop, and he totally commits to all his misanthropic ways. He is given an awesome cast of geeks and assholes for him to poke fun at. Mix that with an editing style reminiscent of Edgar Wright, and the laughs really become electric.

As a trippy murder mystery, it left a lot to be desired. Maybe if MacAvoy seemed like more of a competent detective instead of a gangster with a badge it might actually be interesting to watch it unravel. Instead, it just seems to do it all on his own. To spice things up it adds a level of Fight Club/Dressed to Kill trippiness that feels like a checklist of "edgy indie street cred" elements.

I really wish they would have committed to MacAvoy and the rest of the cast's sense of humor instead of the 90s post-Pulp Fiction wannabe postmodern subversive crime yarn.

Other reviews of this film: cobb (8/10) , OldKingClancy (9/10) > Display all
Tee-ads-mfc2 JoBlo.com Arrow in the Head Movie Hotties JoBlo Videos