Watch the intro video!
Image_145ee5ad4
October 2014
SMTWTFS
2829301234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930311

Age
28

Sex
Male

Relationship Status
Single

Location
Massachusetts (USA)

Work/School
Accounts Payable

Links
Homepage
Twitter


196 friends > See all
What's this?

Fan of 17 items > See all
Image_b260d3a1a
Pulp Fiction
#1 Movie of All-Time
O Brother, Where Art Thou
#1 Comedy
Die Hard
#1 Action
Moon
#1 Sci-Fi
Dawn of the Dead
#1 Horror
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
#1 Romance
The Big Lebowski
#1 Stoner
The Iron Giant
#1 Animated
Pan's Labyrinth
#1 Fantasy
40 Year Old Virgin
#1 Romantic Comedy
Sam Rockwell
#1 Actor
Charlize Theron
#1 Actress
The Coen Brothers
#1 Director
Emma Watson
#1 Hottie
Indiana Jones
#1 Movie Character
... View the rest.
cerealkiller182
Offline
Badge_01 Badge_02 Badge_03 Badge_07 Badge_08
I have been waiting for this to happen ever since Disney bought Marvel, but it turns out Marvel has nothing to do with it. BOOM! Comics bringing Darkwing Duck back in 2015
TOTAL POSTS
12,090 Posts
KING Of All Schmoes
View all reviews
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 13 days ago

The Drop



The-drop-poster

Directed by: Michael Roskam
Written by: Dennis Lehane
Cast: Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace, James Gandolfini, Matthias Schoenaerts, John Ortiz
Studio: Fox Searchlight
Genre: Crime, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: A local bartender finds himself at odds with local criminals. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/10/12/movie-review-the-drop/

Review:

I feel like I could be biased towards this movie because this is exactly the kind of gangster movies I like. The guys in the pinstripes constantly talking about loyalty with an almost supernatural reach into each and every criminal enterprise don’t interest me. Or at least, I like it when those guys fall down, which I guess is the point. I am more into the local tough guys kind of movies. I highly recommend seeing Monument Ave (sometimes called Snitch) starring Denis Leary, which is a kindred spirit to this movie...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: AlmostFamous91 (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 05:13 AM Oct 13

Great review. I loved this movie and agree with your description as timeless. It really is.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 15 days ago

Gone Girl



Gone-girl-posterw

Directed by: David Fincher
Written by:
Cast: Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris, Missi Pyle, Kim Dickens, Tyler Perry, Patrick Fugit, Casey Wilson
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Genre: Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: A man becomes a suspect in his wife’s disappearance http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/10/09/movie-review-gone-girl/

Review:

Very early in the movie, when Ben Affleck’s Nick Dunne gives some background information to the lead investigator, Kim Dickens’ Rhonda Boney, he lets her know he owns a local bar, called The Bar. Boney smiles, “I like it. It’s very meta.” That is the key to David Fincher’s latest murder mystery cryptogram that is Gone Girl. That said, this movie is incredibly hard to review, unless you have read the book. There are barely any hints in the trailer for the true direction of the movie. I would really hate to be the one to ruin it for everyone, so I am going to give it a try (reviewing, that is). Calling the meta line the key is about as spoilery as I am willing to go...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (10/10) , AlmostFamous91 (9/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 19 days ago

Locke



Locke-poster

Directed by: Steven Knight
Written by: Steven Knight
Cast: Tom Hardy
Studio: A24
Genre: Drama, Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: A man at a crossroads tries to keep his life in order over the phone

Review:

Locke is a construction worker who has to make a big decision. From his car, he starts making calls trying to make it possible for him to make the hard decision without letting his life crumble around him.

What everyone is talking about is Tom Hardy's performance as the lead character, who takes on a politician's style of speaking while emoting some pretty impressive depths of character. Everyone else is just a disembodied voice on the phone. There's part of me that thinks it would be better to see the people on the phone and allow Locke to be the disembodied voice, add some more mystery to what it is he is doing.

Its not long when we realize what it is Locke is doing, and that part is a big disappointing. I don't find the stakes to be very high, and the solution should be so much easier if Locke had just planned ahead. It all just seems very mundane not worth letting so many things go to pot. That can't take away from what Tom Hardy does though.

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (9/10) , AlmostFamous91 (9/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 19 days ago

Edge of Tomorrow



Edgeoftomorrow-post4

Directed by: Doug Liman
Written by: Dante Harper
Cast: Tom Cruise, Emily Blunt
Studio: Warner Bros.
Genre: Action, Science-Fiction, War
Official Site:
Plot: During an alien invasion, one soldier gets the ability to relive the day.

Review:

This is an interesting project for Tom Cruise. It is late into Tom's career, and it seems weird to see Tom Cruise take a role that is not explicitly a hero. A character that still needs to learn to be a hero. Its not a detriment to the movie, I just find it interesting...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: JohnnyPHreak (9/10) , oscarxp25 (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 06:46 PM Oct 06

Really enjoyed your review. I loved this movie.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 19 days ago

Under the skin



Under_the_skin_us_poster

Directed by: Jonathan Glazer
Written by: Walter Campbell
Cast: Scarlett Johansson, Paul Brannigan
Studio: Film4
Genre: Horror, Science-Fiction, Thriller
Official Site:
Plot: An inhuman seductress preys on men.

Review:

An effectively spacey and eclectic thriller from Jonathan Glazer casts Scarlet Johansson in probably her most interesting role yet.

She plays a succubus of sorts called an alien by almost everyone who writes about the movie even though it is never explicitly said. She is most certainly not human. Her thousand mile stare clashes with her natural beauty and makes the moments where she clicks on the fake charm all the more scary and predatory. I thought it was a pretty damn impressive performance.

The moments where the men are consumed are some of the most interesting imagery put to film his year at the very least. They just get absorbed into the darkness.

ScarJo is not just a predator. She is also an observer. In one moment, she watches a very tragic event happen on a beach. It is a combination of sadness, love, impulse, contradiction, and foolihardiness. The best of intentions that leave no one in a better place. Whether unwillingly or unknowingly, she was absorbing these human traits and preying on men became harder to do. Watching her struggle with that is pretty compelling mixed with some mind-fucking visuals.

Other reviews of this film: HoyleHaw (9/10) , oscarxp25 (6/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 19 days ago

Life of Crime



Life-of-crime-poster

Directed by: Daniel Schechter
Written by: Elmore Leonard
Cast: Tim Robbins, Jennifer Aniston, Isla Fisher, Mos Def, Mark Junior, Will Forte, John Hawkes
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Comedy, Crime
Official Site: www.lifeofcrimemovie.com
Plot: Two criminals kidnap a woman of a wealthy man uninterested in paying her ransom http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/10/05/movie-review-life-of-crime/

Review:

Based on the novel The Switch by Elmore Leonard, it follows some would-be criminal masterminds that the movie going public has already been made familiar of. John Hawkes and Yasiin Bey (formerly known as Mos Def) play Louis Gara and Ordell Robbie respectively. These are the same characters played by Robert De Niro and Samuel L. Jackson in Quentin Tarantino’s Jackie Brown, based on Leonard’s Rum Punch. The two movies are not really related, they are simply adapted from similar source material, but you can’t help but look at this as a prequel of sorts...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: AlmostFamous91 (4/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 25 days ago

The Skeleton Twins



Skeletontwins_1sheet_300dpi

Directed by: Craig Johnson
Written by: Mark Heyman
Cast: Ty Burrell, Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Luke Wilson
Studio: Roadside Attractions
Genre: Comedy, Drama
Official Site:
Plot: Estranged twins reconnect after a suicide attempt. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/09/29/movie-review-the-skeleton-twins/

Review:

The Skeleton Twins is not the most original or inspired indie dramedy. In fact, it sort of reads like a checklist of that genre’s tropes. Maggie (played by Kristen Wiig) is self-sabotaging her own marriage cheating on her husband and secretly taking birth control while her husband thinks they are trying to have a baby. She is staring at a pile of pills in her hand ready to take her own life when she is interrupted by a phone call that her gay, failed-actor brother , Milo (played by Bill Hader), who is still pining for his high school English teacher, has already tried to kill himself. Maggie asks Milo to move in with her and thus begins their little journey walking a fine line between enabling and helping...[more]...

Kristen-wiig-0

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 30 days ago

Tusk



Tusk_xxlg

Directed by: Kevin Smith
Written by: Kevin Smith
Cast: Genesis Rodriguez, Justin Long, Haley Osment, Michael Parks
Studio:
Genre: Horror
Official Site:
Plot: An interviewer of weird and strange people is tortured by an old man http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/09/25/movie-review-tusk/

Review:

Disclaimer: I consider myself a Kevin Smith fan and have only truly disliked one of his movies, Cop Out...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (8/10) , AlmostFamous91 (6/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Life After Beth



Life-after-beth-plaza

Directed by: Jeff Baena
Written by: Jeff Baena
Cast: Aubrey Plaza, Anna Kendrick, Dane DeHaan, John C. Reilly, Cheryl Hines, Paul Reiser, Alia Shawkat
Studio: A24
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: When a young man’s recently deceased girlfriend comes back from the dead, he realizes it is not quite the miracle he hoped for.

Review:

Maybe, just maybe, you are all zombied out. I know. I get it. There’s a lot to take in right now. It’s low hanging fruit to just do a simple cheapie flick about zombies and get a lot of attention thanks simply to the popularity of the subgenre. That doesn’t mean though that all the good ideas have been picked from this particular genre garden. I think Shaun of the Dead and Fido proved that. Certainly, the popularity of “The Walking Dead” tv series ended up much higher than people expected. With that in mind, Life After Beth is definitely worth checking out...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: JohnnyPHreak (5/10) , OldKingClancy (7/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Guardians of the Galaxy



Hr_guardians_of_the_galaxy_47

Directed by: James Gunn
Written by: James Gunn
Cast: Michael Rooker, Lee Pace, Chris Pratt, Zo Saldana, Dave Bautista, Benicio Del Toro, John C. Reilly, Glenn Close, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Karen Gillan
Studio: Marvel Studios
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: A band of space-faring misfits form an unlikely partnership to take down a megalomaniacal dictator bent on racially purifying the galaxy

Review:

I cannot believe this happened. The version of Guardians of the Galaxy that inspired this movie happens to be one of my favorite comic books of all time. With a roster like these guys, I never expected it to make it to film, at least not with Marvel Studios still just beginning to develop their own shared cinematic universe...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (8/10) , Muta (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 01:02 AM Sep 15

Great review, I enjoyed reading it. I loved this movie so much. Nice to hear that as an established fan of the comic you love the movie adaptation and feel they did a great job with it!

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

About Alex



About-alex

Directed by: Jesse Zwick
Written by: Jesse Zwick
Cast: Aubrey Plaza, Maggie Grace, Jane Levy, Max Greenfield, Max Minghella
Studio: The Bedford Falls Company, Footprint Features
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: A group of friends get together after one of them tries to commit suicide.

Review:

Made from a cast of actors I like: Aubrey Plaza, Jane Levy, Max Greenfield, and Jason Ritter, I decided to check out a movie that was incredibly uninspired.

It is essentially a millenial take on The Big Chill. It is overwritten, needlessly dour, and full of characters that are obnoxiously self-centered. Most of their complaints about life are about selling out and over reliance on technology and social networking with some lazy relationship drama thrown in for good measure. Or at least intended for good measure.

Aubrey Plaza carries much of the cast with her character being emotionally available while having a reputation of not being that way. Jason Ritter carries much of the ironic comedy reminding people not to take his attempt too seriously with newcomer Nate Parker being the biggest revelation of the movie, giving a solid performance as the only one with his head on straight. His biggest complaint was writer's block which he never passed off on other people.

Unfortunately, Max Greenfield symbolized every negative criticism of his generation which no character arc. He neither got better or worse. Jane Levy played the token youngster who's stoned behavior would be a better fit for an anti-drug campaign than reality.

XSsoCX
XSsoCX at 01:45 AM Sep 15

Sorry you didn't like it much, but I definitely have to check this one out. Like you I dig that cast, and the subject matter hits a little home(No, I was one who attempted suicide.).

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

God's Pocket



Gods-pocket

Directed by: John Slattery
Written by: Alex Metcalf
Cast: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Christina Hendricks, Eddie Marsan, Jack O'Connell , Caleb Jones, John Turturro
Studio: IFC Films
Genre: Drama
Official Site:
Plot: A stepfather is forced to do his own investigation to the death of his stepson.

Review:

Taking place in the fictional working class neighborhood, God's Pocket, based on a novel of the same name, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, in his first movie since his untimely death, plays a grieving stepfather to a lunatic construction worker killed for pissing off the wrong person who is forced to look into how he died by the boy's mother/Hoffman's wife completely blind to how big of an asshole her son really is.

In true working class neighborhood cliche, the whole neighborhood offers their condolences. "He was a good kid, everyone knew it" they lied. And when they weren't memorializing assholes, they give extra grief to Hoffman's character for not having grown up there. He's not "from there" so he doesn't get to relish in the seedy charm of it. Neither does the journalist played by Richard Jenkins, based on the author of the novel. He says he has a great deal of respect for people like them, but he always ends up sounding insulting.

It plays with these cliches and tries to insert a biting wit to seem subversive like Tarantino, but at this point in the timeline of cinema, it just seems like another cliche. Hoffman and John Turturro gave some cool performances and carries a pace that is easy to watch regardless, but the film is overall unmemorable.

Other reviews of this film: TreyTheMovieMan (9/10) , Horrorfan99 (5/10) > Display all
Cochise
Cochise at 04:04 PM Sep 15

nice review. I've heard great things about this one, as well as mediocre reception like yours. Definitely do want to check it out for PSH anyway though, hoping for the best. Plot sounds intriguing.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Chef



Chef-poster-favreau

Directed by: Jon Favreau
Written by: Jon Favreau
Cast: Scarlett Johansson, Robert Downey Jr., Jon Favreau, Sofia Vergara, John Leguizamo, Bobby Cannavale, Dustin Hoffman, Amy Sedaris, Oliver Platt, Garry Shandling
Studio: Open Road Films
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: After being fired from his swanky restaurant job, a once promising chef opens a food truck.

Review:

I wan't really sold on Chef out of the gate. It looked like the kind of fluffy, overly sappy dramedy that goes fishing for surprise award consideration but ends up being the definition of "meh." I was wrong. I mean, not completely wrong, the DNA is obviously there, but Favreau and company make it fun...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Kevin Smith fan (8/10) , darqjade (8/10) > Display all
Laksmikanti
Laksmikanti at 08:34 AM Aug 25

I liked the fact how he included social media in the movie.
I liked as you said it how cool begin a foodie can be, and how much passion for the kitchen he has.
But ONLY in Hollywood you have Sofia Vergara as your ex-wife who is so THAT nice and you are banging Scarlet Johanson who push you to go and follow your dreams and passion, and you actually do.
PLUS! you get the help of your ex-ex who is Iron Man.

cerealkiller182
cerealkiller182 at 01:42 PM Aug 25

I just realzied the meta-implications of RDJ being his ex's ex

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

The Expendables 3



Expendables_three_poster3

Directed by: Patrick Hughes
Written by: Sylvester Stallone
Cast: Sylvester Stallone, Jackie Chan, Wesley Snipes, Mel Gibson, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Kellan Lutz, Jet Li, Antonio Banderas, Dolph Lundgren, Harrison Ford, Terry Crews, Robert Davi, Randy Couture, Kelsey Grammer, Victor Ortiz, Glen Powell, Ronda Rousey
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Action
Official Site:
Plot: Barney Ross enlists the help of a new group of mercs to take on his former partner and co-founded of The Expendables

Review:

The first Expendables in my opinion took itself too seriously and ruined quite a bit of its action with amateur special effects. The second Expendables went in the opposite direction. The action was much better, but the adventure was worse with too much goofy humor. The third one while not great definitely finds the balance between the last 2 making it the most fun one yet.

Mel Gibson is totally bonkers as the bad guy, in a good way. Antonio Banderas and Kelsey Grammar were welcome additions bringing in a much needed and different kind of energy. Wesley Snipes was significantly more manic than I expected, which was a nice foil for Jason Statham. Harrison Ford was a huge improvement over Bruce "I no longer want to be here" Willis. The young guns weren't developed, but as new faces with new tricks in the big ending set piece, they were definitely welcome additions.

Unfortunately, Sly has never treated these movies like true ensembles. They have always been more of a parade of guest stars, and this one is no different. At least this time, many of the characters seem to be well-utilized. Especially Dolph and Corture who tear shit up with a tank at one point.

Other reviews of this film: The Arrow (7/10) , EVILDEADKING (8/10) > Display all
Cochise
Cochise at 09:13 PM Aug 24

very nice review! Good to hear!

Slick Nick
Slick Nick at 09:55 PM Aug 24

Good review !

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Neighbors



Neighbors-poster

Directed by: Nicholas Stoller
Written by: Brendan O'Brien
Cast: Zac Efron, Seth Rogen, Rose Byrne, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Dave Franco, Lisa Kudrow, Jake Johnson, Carla Gallo, Craig Roberts
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: A frat moves in next door to a couple with a new baby.

Review:

I like Seth Rogen, but I feel like he makes a lot of crap between the comedies people will really remember him for. I was afraid this would be one of them. Rogen plays the new father to a baby he had with Rose Byrne. The two of them have incredible chemistry and are very funny together. It becomes hard for them to have a normal life when 24 hour partying frat moves in next door, led by Zac Efron and David Franco. Again, these 2 guys have really great chemistry and are very funny together. As are Efron and Rogen.

Eventually a prank war starts and hilarity ensues. Enough hilarity to be entertaining anyways. Not exactly the funniest movie in Rogens resume, but it definitely doesn't drop the ball on being fun.

The fact that their are pranks and whatnot, there is actually a lot of plot to get through and some Jackass kind of stunts, so there seems like there is less improv and conversational humor. The little that was there definitely tended to be the best stuff.

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (6/10) , AlmostFamous91 (8/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 10:41 PM Aug 24

Nice review. I was a bit disappointed when I first watched it as I'd built it up too high, but I ended up seeing it again later and liked it a lot more. I agree on the chemistry between the actors. Great cast.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles



Hr_teenage_mutant_ninja_turtles_5

Directed by: Jonathan Liebesman
Written by: Andre Nemec
Cast: Megan Fox, Alan Ritchson, Pete Ploszek, Noel Fisher, Jeremy Howard, Whoopi Goldberg, William Fichtner, Danny Woodburn, Will Arnett, Johnny Knoxville, Tony Shalhoub
Studio: Paramount Pictures
Genre: Action, Family
Official Site:
Plot: A reporter uncovers a war between a legendary ninja gang and 4 animal humanoid vigilantes

Review:

The voice of Mickey was top notch. Raph and Donnie were good too. Leo was a big letdown. I was hoping Knoxville was going to surprise. Splinter was good.

I didn't really mind the change in design, except for Donnie's, which was pretty busy. Their size really bothered me though. They were much taller than average humans, even though they are usually much shorter. They also had very varying size levels between the turtles even though they are usually the same size. Shredder's design was completely over the top and unneeded.

William Fichtner was kind of sterotypical. He could have done better. Megan Fox wasn't great but not bad either. As soon as the action really took off she kind of disappeared. Luckily, she was well balanced by Will Arnett.

The action scenes were great especially the mountainside chase scene. The action was sloppily connected by a crappy plot. It reminded me of Amazing Spider-Man's plot with the Lizard, and they left very little room to actually develop the Turtles as characters. Suddenly, there was a lot of interpersonal drama between the Turtles in the finale. Turtle fans will recognize it as their usual character dynamics, but as dramatic plot points, the first time we were really experiencing them was when they were being resolved.

Lots of fun action though.

Other reviews of this film: darqjade (7/10) , wallcrawler383 (4/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

Boyhood



Boyhood-poster

Directed by: Richard Linklater
Written by: Richard Linklater
Cast: Ethan Hawke, Patricia Arquette
Studio:
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: A chronicle of one boy’s life from ages 6 to 18. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/08/01/movie-review-boyhood/

Review:

Filmed over the course of 12 years, thus allowing the actors to age as their characters do, Richard Linklater covers familiar ground waxing poetic about life, love, and the biggest mysteries with his simple but surprisingly poignant stoner philosophizing, much like the kind we saw in his past efforts: Waking Life and the Before series...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (9/10) , AlmostFamous91 (10/10) > Display all
Horrorfan99
Horrorfan99 at 04:51 AM Aug 01

I really have to see this movie.

Cochise
Cochise at 05:15 AM Aug 01

nice review. I'm impossibly excited for this film. Feels like we've been waiting forever for it (lol). Hopefully I feel different about the lead actor.

Laksmikanti
Laksmikanti at 12:33 PM Aug 01

I really want to see this movie.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

The Lego Movie



Lego-movie-poster

Directed by: Phil Lord
Written by: Phil Lord
Cast: Liam Neeson, Will Ferrell, Chris Pratt, Alison Brie, Nick Offerman, Morgan Freeman, Elizabeth Banks, Will Arnett
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Action, Adventure, Animation, Family
Official Site: www.thelegomovie.com
Plot: A mild-mannered worker bee finds out he is a messiah

Review:

The Lego Movie is a super cute adventure about a Lego man, played by the very funny Chris Pratt, living in a Lego world. He struggles making a mark in the world when he inadvertently becomes a messiah to a Lego rebellion. A number of the Lego people, including some trademark characters like Batman, are trying to take down a bureaucrat emperor who wants everything built according to the plans instead of allowing for creativity. It is a useful message in a world obsessed with homogenizing everything. I truly believe children (and most adults) need to learn the benefits of creativity.

The cast also includes Elizabeth Banks at her most cute, Morgan Freeman as a good-humored wiseman, Charlie Day as an over-excited spaceman, Will Ferrell as the over-the-top villain, and Will Arnett killing it was a parody of Batman, so much so, I would be totally open to him voicing the character in a less comedic project.

Also a really awesome twist in the end that I will not spoil.

Other reviews of this film: wallcrawler383 (9/10) , oscarxp25 (7/10) > Display all
Anakin
Anakin at 09:23 PM Jul 20

This will be a blind buy for me.

Glinda
Glinda at 02:40 AM Jul 21

Nice review! Man I love this movie definitely need to see it again.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

Snowpiercer



Snowpiercer-poster4

Directed by: Joon-ho Bong
Written by: Joon-ho Bong
Cast: Chris Evans
Studio: Opus Pictures
Genre: Action, Comic Book, Science-Fiction
Official Site:
Plot: When the world falls into a new ice age, the surviving humans take refuge inside of a train. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/18/movie-review-snowpiercer/

Review:

I have heard so many different descriptions of this movie...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (4/10) , AlmostFamous91 (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 11:24 PM Jul 18

Great review.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

Bad Words



Poster-bad-words

Directed by: Jason Bateman
Written by: Andrew Dodge
Cast: Jason Bateman, Allison Janney, Kathryn Hahn, Philip Hall
Studio: Darko Entertainment
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: An adult sleazes his way into a children's spelling bee competition.

Review:

Jason Bateman plays Guy Tribil, a 40 year old underachiever who has found a loophole that allows him to compete in a youth spelling bee. He is an absolute asshole, and Jason Bateman makes him a pleasure to watch. Jason makes the dialog of this movie his bitch, spitting out mile an hour snarky comments making them sound like he came up with them right there on the spot.

He is followed by a report played by Kathryn Hahn who is fitting the bill for his entrance fees and hotels. Guy has offered her his story of why he is doing this whole absurd plot in the first place. He teases her mercilessly though with his true intentions, never revealing them until the end. Too bad it isn't that interesting after all. That's ok though, because Jason is so much fun to watch.

They really should have focused more on him doing crazy things with his pint sized hotel neighbor, Chopra. The idea of an asshole's POV of what a child should do while he is young has plenty of room for some hilarious darkness. While the 2 get into plenty of trouble, the flick takes a turn into competitive drama pretty quickly.

Other reviews of this film: darqjade (7/10) , oscarxp25 (6/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 03:38 AM Jul 16

Nice review, I just bought this today and am looking forward to it. Nice to see Bateman in a role like this.

Tee-ads-mfc2 JoBlo.com Arrow in the Head Movie Hotties JoBlo Videos