Watch the intro video!
Image_145ee5ad4
September 2014
SMTWTFS
31123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
2829301234

Age
28

Sex
Male

Relationship Status
Single

Location
Massachusetts (USA)

Work/School
Accounts Payable

Links
Homepage
Twitter


195 friends > See all
What's this?

Fan of 17 items > See all
Image_b260d3a1a
Pulp Fiction
#1 Movie of All-Time
O Brother, Where Art Thou
#1 Comedy
Die Hard
#1 Action
Moon
#1 Sci-Fi
Dawn of the Dead
#1 Horror
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
#1 Romance
The Big Lebowski
#1 Stoner
The Iron Giant
#1 Animated
Pan's Labyrinth
#1 Fantasy
40 Year Old Virgin
#1 Romantic Comedy
Sam Rockwell
#1 Actor
Charlize Theron
#1 Actress
The Coen Brothers
#1 Director
Emma Watson
#1 Hottie
Indiana Jones
#1 Movie Character
... View the rest.
cerealkiller182
Online
Badge_01 Badge_02 Badge_03 Badge_07 Badge_08
Dr. Strange sets a release date.......on the date everyone assumed
TOTAL POSTS
11,969 Posts
KING Of All Schmoes
View all reviews
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 days ago

Guardians of the Galaxy



Hr_guardians_of_the_galaxy_47

Directed by: James Gunn
Written by: James Gunn
Cast: Michael Rooker, Lee Pace, Chris Pratt, Zo Saldana, Dave Bautista, Benicio Del Toro, John C. Reilly, Glenn Close, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Karen Gillan
Studio: Marvel Studios
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: A band of space-faring misfits form an unlikely partnership to take down a megalomaniacal dictator bent on racially purifying the galaxy

Review:

I cannot believe this happened. The version of Guardians of the Galaxy that inspired this movie happens to be one of my favorite comic books of all time. With a roster like these guys, I never expected it to make it to film, at least not with Marvel Studios still just beginning to develop their own shared cinematic universe...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (8/10) , Muta (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 05:02 PM Sep 14

Great review, I enjoyed reading it. I loved this movie so much. Nice to hear that as an established fan of the comic you love the movie adaptation and feel they did a great job with it!

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 days ago

About Alex



About-alex

Directed by: Jesse Zwick
Written by: Jesse Zwick
Cast: Aubrey Plaza, Maggie Grace, Jane Levy, Max Greenfield, Max Minghella
Studio: The Bedford Falls Company, Footprint Features
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: A group of friends get together after one of them tries to commit suicide.

Review:

Made from a cast of actors I like: Aubrey Plaza, Jane Levy, Max Greenfield, and Jason Ritter, I decided to check out a movie that was incredibly uninspired.

It is essentially a millenial take on The Big Chill. It is overwritten, needlessly dour, and full of characters that are obnoxiously self-centered. Most of their complaints about life are about selling out and over reliance on technology and social networking with some lazy relationship drama thrown in for good measure. Or at least intended for good measure.

Aubrey Plaza carries much of the cast with her character being emotionally available while having a reputation of not being that way. Jason Ritter carries much of the ironic comedy reminding people not to take his attempt too seriously with newcomer Nate Parker being the biggest revelation of the movie, giving a solid performance as the only one with his head on straight. His biggest complaint was writer's block which he never passed off on other people.

Unfortunately, Max Greenfield symbolized every negative criticism of his generation which no character arc. He neither got better or worse. Jane Levy played the token youngster who's stoned behavior would be a better fit for an anti-drug campaign than reality.

XSsoCX
XSsoCX at 05:45 PM Sep 14

Sorry you didn't like it much, but I definitely have to check this one out. Like you I dig that cast, and the subject matter hits a little home(No, I was one who attempted suicide.).

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 days ago

God's Pocket



Gods-pocket

Directed by: John Slattery
Written by: Alex Metcalf
Cast: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Christina Hendricks, Eddie Marsan, Jack O'Connell , Caleb Jones, John Turturro
Studio: IFC Films
Genre: Drama
Official Site:
Plot: A stepfather is forced to do his own investigation to the death of his stepson.

Review:

Taking place in the fictional working class neighborhood, God's Pocket, based on a novel of the same name, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, in his first movie since his untimely death, plays a grieving stepfather to a lunatic construction worker killed for pissing off the wrong person who is forced to look into how he died by the boy's mother/Hoffman's wife completely blind to how big of an asshole her son really is.

In true working class neighborhood cliche, the whole neighborhood offers their condolences. "He was a good kid, everyone knew it" they lied. And when they weren't memorializing assholes, they give extra grief to Hoffman's character for not having grown up there. He's not "from there" so he doesn't get to relish in the seedy charm of it. Neither does the journalist played by Richard Jenkins, based on the author of the novel. He says he has a great deal of respect for people like them, but he always ends up sounding insulting.

It plays with these cliches and tries to insert a biting wit to seem subversive like Tarantino, but at this point in the timeline of cinema, it just seems like another cliche. Hoffman and John Turturro gave some cool performances and carries a pace that is easy to watch regardless, but the film is overall unmemorable.

Other reviews of this film: TreyTheMovieMan (9/10) > Display all
Cochise
Cochise at 08:04 AM Sep 15

nice review. I've heard great things about this one, as well as mediocre reception like yours. Definitely do want to check it out for PSH anyway though, hoping for the best. Plot sounds intriguing.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 24 days ago

Chef



Chef-poster-favreau

Directed by: Jon Favreau
Written by: Jon Favreau
Cast: Scarlett Johansson, Robert Downey Jr., Jon Favreau, Sofia Vergara, John Leguizamo, Bobby Cannavale, Dustin Hoffman, Amy Sedaris, Oliver Platt, Garry Shandling
Studio: Open Road Films
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: After being fired from his swanky restaurant job, a once promising chef opens a food truck.

Review:

I wan't really sold on Chef out of the gate. It looked like the kind of fluffy, overly sappy dramedy that goes fishing for surprise award consideration but ends up being the definition of "meh." I was wrong. I mean, not completely wrong, the DNA is obviously there, but Favreau and company make it fun...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Kevin Smith fan (8/10) , darqjade (8/10) > Display all
Laksmikanti
Laksmikanti at 12:34 AM Aug 25

I liked the fact how he included social media in the movie.
I liked as you said it how cool begin a foodie can be, and how much passion for the kitchen he has.
But ONLY in Hollywood you have Sofia Vergara as your ex-wife who is so THAT nice and you are banging Scarlet Johanson who push you to go and follow your dreams and passion, and you actually do.
PLUS! you get the help of your ex-ex who is Iron Man.

cerealkiller182
cerealkiller182 at 05:42 AM Aug 25

I just realzied the meta-implications of RDJ being his ex's ex

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 24 days ago

The Expendables 3



Expendables_three_poster3

Directed by: Patrick Hughes
Written by: Sylvester Stallone
Cast: Sylvester Stallone, Jackie Chan, Wesley Snipes, Mel Gibson, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Kellan Lutz, Jet Li, Antonio Banderas, Dolph Lundgren, Harrison Ford, Terry Crews, Robert Davi, Randy Couture, Kelsey Grammer, Victor Ortiz, Glen Powell, Ronda Rousey
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Action
Official Site:
Plot: Barney Ross enlists the help of a new group of mercs to take on his former partner and co-founded of The Expendables

Review:

The first Expendables in my opinion took itself too seriously and ruined quite a bit of its action with amateur special effects. The second Expendables went in the opposite direction. The action was much better, but the adventure was worse with too much goofy humor. The third one while not great definitely finds the balance between the last 2 making it the most fun one yet.

Mel Gibson is totally bonkers as the bad guy, in a good way. Antonio Banderas and Kelsey Grammar were welcome additions bringing in a much needed and different kind of energy. Wesley Snipes was significantly more manic than I expected, which was a nice foil for Jason Statham. Harrison Ford was a huge improvement over Bruce "I no longer want to be here" Willis. The young guns weren't developed, but as new faces with new tricks in the big ending set piece, they were definitely welcome additions.

Unfortunately, Sly has never treated these movies like true ensembles. They have always been more of a parade of guest stars, and this one is no different. At least this time, many of the characters seem to be well-utilized. Especially Dolph and Corture who tear shit up with a tank at one point.

Other reviews of this film: The Arrow (7/10) , EVILDEADKING (8/10) > Display all
Cochise
Cochise at 01:13 PM Aug 24

very nice review! Good to hear!

Slick Nick
Slick Nick at 01:55 PM Aug 24

Good review !

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 24 days ago

Neighbors



Neighbors-poster

Directed by: Nicholas Stoller
Written by: Brendan O'Brien
Cast: Zac Efron, Seth Rogen, Rose Byrne, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Dave Franco, Lisa Kudrow, Jake Johnson, Carla Gallo, Craig Roberts
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: A frat moves in next door to a couple with a new baby.

Review:

I like Seth Rogen, but I feel like he makes a lot of crap between the comedies people will really remember him for. I was afraid this would be one of them. Rogen plays the new father to a baby he had with Rose Byrne. The two of them have incredible chemistry and are very funny together. It becomes hard for them to have a normal life when 24 hour partying frat moves in next door, led by Zac Efron and David Franco. Again, these 2 guys have really great chemistry and are very funny together. As are Efron and Rogen.

Eventually a prank war starts and hilarity ensues. Enough hilarity to be entertaining anyways. Not exactly the funniest movie in Rogens resume, but it definitely doesn't drop the ball on being fun.

The fact that their are pranks and whatnot, there is actually a lot of plot to get through and some Jackass kind of stunts, so there seems like there is less improv and conversational humor. The little that was there definitely tended to be the best stuff.

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (6/10) , AlmostFamous91 (8/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 02:41 PM Aug 24

Nice review. I was a bit disappointed when I first watched it as I'd built it up too high, but I ended up seeing it again later and liked it a lot more. I agree on the chemistry between the actors. Great cast.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 24 days ago

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles



Hr_teenage_mutant_ninja_turtles_5

Directed by: Jonathan Liebesman
Written by: Andre Nemec
Cast: Megan Fox, Alan Ritchson, Pete Ploszek, Noel Fisher, Jeremy Howard, Whoopi Goldberg, William Fichtner, Danny Woodburn, Will Arnett, Johnny Knoxville, Tony Shalhoub
Studio: Paramount Pictures
Genre: Action, Family
Official Site:
Plot: A reporter uncovers a war between a legendary ninja gang and 4 animal humanoid vigilantes

Review:

The voice of Mickey was top notch. Raph and Donnie were good too. Leo was a big letdown. I was hoping Knoxville was going to surprise. Splinter was good.

I didn't really mind the change in design, except for Donnie's, which was pretty busy. Their size really bothered me though. They were much taller than average humans, even though they are usually much shorter. They also had very varying size levels between the turtles even though they are usually the same size. Shredder's design was completely over the top and unneeded.

William Fichtner was kind of sterotypical. He could have done better. Megan Fox wasn't great but not bad either. As soon as the action really took off she kind of disappeared. Luckily, she was well balanced by Will Arnett.

The action scenes were great especially the mountainside chase scene. The action was sloppily connected by a crappy plot. It reminded me of Amazing Spider-Man's plot with the Lizard, and they left very little room to actually develop the Turtles as characters. Suddenly, there was a lot of interpersonal drama between the Turtles in the finale. Turtle fans will recognize it as their usual character dynamics, but as dramatic plot points, the first time we were really experiencing them was when they were being resolved.

Lots of fun action though.

Other reviews of this film: darqjade (7/10) , wallcrawler383 (4/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

Boyhood



Boyhood-poster

Directed by: Richard Linklater
Written by: Richard Linklater
Cast: Ethan Hawke, Patricia Arquette
Studio:
Genre:
Official Site:
Plot: A chronicle of one boy’s life from ages 6 to 18. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/08/01/movie-review-boyhood/

Review:

Filmed over the course of 12 years, thus allowing the actors to age as their characters do, Richard Linklater covers familiar ground waxing poetic about life, love, and the biggest mysteries with his simple but surprisingly poignant stoner philosophizing, much like the kind we saw in his past efforts: Waking Life and the Before series...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (9/10) , AlmostFamous91 (10/10) > Display all
Horrorfan99
Horrorfan99 at 08:51 PM Jul 31

I really have to see this movie.

Cochise
Cochise at 09:15 PM Jul 31

nice review. I'm impossibly excited for this film. Feels like we've been waiting forever for it (lol). Hopefully I feel different about the lead actor.

Laksmikanti
Laksmikanti at 04:33 AM Aug 01

I really want to see this movie.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 1 month ago

The Lego Movie



Lego-movie-poster

Directed by: Phil Lord
Written by: Phil Lord
Cast: Liam Neeson, Will Ferrell, Chris Pratt, Alison Brie, Nick Offerman, Morgan Freeman, Elizabeth Banks, Will Arnett
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Action, Adventure, Animation, Family
Official Site: www.thelegomovie.com
Plot: A mild-mannered worker bee finds out he is a messiah

Review:

The Lego Movie is a super cute adventure about a Lego man, played by the very funny Chris Pratt, living in a Lego world. He struggles making a mark in the world when he inadvertently becomes a messiah to a Lego rebellion. A number of the Lego people, including some trademark characters like Batman, are trying to take down a bureaucrat emperor who wants everything built according to the plans instead of allowing for creativity. It is a useful message in a world obsessed with homogenizing everything. I truly believe children (and most adults) need to learn the benefits of creativity.

The cast also includes Elizabeth Banks at her most cute, Morgan Freeman as a good-humored wiseman, Charlie Day as an over-excited spaceman, Will Ferrell as the over-the-top villain, and Will Arnett killing it was a parody of Batman, so much so, I would be totally open to him voicing the character in a less comedic project.

Also a really awesome twist in the end that I will not spoil.

Other reviews of this film: wallcrawler383 (9/10) , oscarxp25 (7/10) > Display all
Anakin
Anakin at 01:23 PM Jul 20

This will be a blind buy for me.

Glinda
Glinda at 06:40 PM Jul 20

Nice review! Man I love this movie definitely need to see it again.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Snowpiercer



Snowpiercer-poster4

Directed by: Joon-ho Bong
Written by: Joon-ho Bong
Cast: Chris Evans
Studio: Opus Pictures
Genre: Action, Comic Book, Science-Fiction
Official Site:
Plot: When the world falls into a new ice age, the surviving humans take refuge inside of a train. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/18/movie-review-snowpiercer/

Review:

I have heard so many different descriptions of this movie...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (4/10) , AlmostFamous91 (9/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 03:24 PM Jul 18

Great review.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Bad Words



Poster-bad-words

Directed by: Jason Bateman
Written by: Andrew Dodge
Cast: Jason Bateman, Allison Janney, Kathryn Hahn, Philip Hall
Studio: Darko Entertainment
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: An adult sleazes his way into a children's spelling bee competition.

Review:

Jason Bateman plays Guy Tribil, a 40 year old underachiever who has found a loophole that allows him to compete in a youth spelling bee. He is an absolute asshole, and Jason Bateman makes him a pleasure to watch. Jason makes the dialog of this movie his bitch, spitting out mile an hour snarky comments making them sound like he came up with them right there on the spot.

He is followed by a report played by Kathryn Hahn who is fitting the bill for his entrance fees and hotels. Guy has offered her his story of why he is doing this whole absurd plot in the first place. He teases her mercilessly though with his true intentions, never revealing them until the end. Too bad it isn't that interesting after all. That's ok though, because Jason is so much fun to watch.

They really should have focused more on him doing crazy things with his pint sized hotel neighbor, Chopra. The idea of an asshole's POV of what a child should do while he is young has plenty of room for some hilarious darkness. While the 2 get into plenty of trouble, the flick takes a turn into competitive drama pretty quickly.

Other reviews of this film: darqjade (7/10) , oscarxp25 (6/10) > Display all
Glinda
Glinda at 07:38 PM Jul 15

Nice review, I just bought this today and am looking forward to it. Nice to see Bateman in a role like this.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Transcendence



Transcendence-poster

Directed by: Wally Pfister
Written by: Jack Paglen
Cast: Johnny Depp, Paul Bettany, Kate Mara, Rebecca Hall, Morgan Freeman, Cillian Murphy, Cory Hardrict
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Drama, Science-Fiction
Official Site:
Plot: A leading expert in AI has his mind implanted in a machine after an assassination attempt

Review:

Boy! This was disappointing.

Johnny Depp tries his hand at his first normal dude in a long time. He definitely sort of has a rock star techie innovator thing going for him before he enters the computer. After he does, he is pretty much a tone deaf voice. We barely get to see him before he ends up in the machine, that any chemistry that has won Rebecca Hall or befriended many of the others is missing completely.

There's a lot of big ideas with small executions. Its a pretty by-the-numbers look at tech-dependency. No one will claim they aren't useful or practical, but too much and we might lose our individuality. In the end, its attempts to be ambiguous about the bigger ideas actually makes the movie seem like it is clueless instead of undecided.

It's too bad because there are some really pretty special effects.

Other reviews of this film: oscarxp25 (6/10) , cobb (1/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Sabotage



Sabotage_updated

Directed by: David Ayer
Written by: Skip Woods
Cast: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sam Worthington, Terrence Howard, Mireille Enos, Max Martini, Olivia Williams, Josh Holloway, Joe Manganiello
Studio: Open Road Films
Genre: Action, Crime
Official Site:
Plot: A DEA squad is hunted by a mystery assassin after they steal money from one of their busts

Review:

Goddammit, I love Arnold. I don't think he has, as an individual, ever lost a step since his hiatus from the biz. His comic timing, his ability to know when and where to chew the scenery and when to hold back, and his overall ability to just kickass is primed and ready for a bigtime comeback...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Frosty_86 (7/10) , razgriz21 (8/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

Willow Creek



Willow_creek_theatrical_poster

Directed by: Bobcat Goldthwait
Written by: Bobcat Goldthwait
Cast: Alexie Gilmore, Bryce Johnson
Studio:
Genre: Horror
Official Site:
Plot: With help from his girlfriend, Kelly, Jim tries to make a documentary about Bigfoot, hoping to find him in the process. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/10/movie-review-willow-creek/

Review:

Ever since becoming a filmmaker, comedian Bobcat Goldthwait has played to a particular strength, comedy. His comedies have been much darker and more dramatic then his usual stand up or acting work, but this movie is completely different. It is a found footage horror movie. Found footage is a pretty limited style of doing horror movie. It became popular for its inherently low budgets, as well as the illusion first founded by Blair Witch Project, that what we are seeing are actual events rather than some obvious piece of fiction. From there, the style has digressed to cheap attempts at recapturing the magic of Blair Witch, which to be honest I didn’t find that memorable to begin with. Willow Creek definitely comes the closest...[more]...

MonsterZeroNJ
MonsterZeroNJ at 03:53 PM Jul 09

Cool. Was curious about this.

timmyd
timmyd at 06:23 PM Jul 09

Nice to know. I've still yet to see this , but I'm definitely going to.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 2 months ago

They Came Together



They-came-together-poster

Directed by: David Wain
Written by: David Wain
Cast: Paul Rudd, Amy Poehler, Cobie Smulders, Jeffrey Morgan, Michael Shannon, Adam Scott, Christopher Meloni, Ellie Kemper, John Stamos, Bill Hader, Luke Greenfield, Jack McBrayer, Ed Helms
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: A big corporate stooge falls for the quirky small business woman. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/05/movie-review-they-came-together/

Review:

Thanks to the likes of Christopher Guest, Mel Brooks, and Zucker, Abrahams, and Zucker, parody used to be one of my favorite subgenres of comedy, but ever since Scary Movie, it has really imploded. Gone are witty subversions of genre staples replaced by a grab bag of barely rewritten lines and references thrown together in an unintelligible manner. Director David Wain’s cult favorite tear down of ’80s camp comedies, Wet Hot American Summer, has been one of the few great ones, so I sort of had high hopes...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Horrorfan99 (7/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

Only Lovers Left Alive



Only_lovers_left_alive_ver3_xlg

Directed by: Jim Jarmusch
Written by: Jim Jarmusch
Cast: Tilda Swinton, Tom Hiddleston, Anton Yelchin, Mia Wasikowska, John Hurt, Jeffrey Wright
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
Genre: Drama, Romance
Official Site:
Plot: Two separated immortal lovers are reunited after many years. http://houseofgeekery.com/2014/07/04/movie-review-only-lover-left-alive/

Review:

I’m not scared of death. I mean, I’m not scared of being on the other side of the door, but I am scared that walking through that door will be painful. The scariest things of all though, or maybe depressing is the better word, is that after I am cold and buried there will always be more comics, more movies, and more TV shows being made that I will never be able to experience. I know that probably seems selfish and hollow, but for some reason, that thought just makes me instantly sick to my stomach...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: Psycho-Pirate-99 (9/10) , MonsterZeroNJ (8/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

Joe



Joe-poster-final

Directed by: David Green
Written by: Gary Hawkins
Cast: Nicolas Cage, Tye Sheridan
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Drama
Official Site:
Plot: An ex-con finds himself as the unlikely role model to a 15 year old.

Review:

Nic Cage might be the least consistent actor in the industry. Sometimes he is award winning, sometimes he his a shit show. This leans more toward award winning thankfully. Not that he is that good in the movie, but he is much better. There was a very loose structure to the movie and seemed like there might have been some mumblecore like improv within the dialog. Cage seemed to struggle a little with that...[more]...

Other reviews of this film: AlmostFamous91 (6/10) , cobb (8/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

A Long Way Down



A_long_way_down_poster

Directed by: Pascal Chaumeil
Written by: Nick Hornby
Cast: Aaron Paul, Pierce Brosnan, Imogen Poots, Toni Collette
Studio: Magnolia
Genre: Comedy, Drama
Official Site: www.alongwaydownfilm.com
Plot: 4 people who meet right before committing suicide make a pact not to jump.

Review:

An ensemble made up some great actors: Breaking Bad's Aaron Paul, former Bond Pierce Brosnan, the underrated Toni Collette, and always adorable Imogen Poots.

Their chemistry is excellent. They balance sadness and humor so well together. They feed off each other's energy. There's always one of them ready to even out the rest of them. The problem is the movie likes to separate them too much. It likes to send them on their own adventures or sulk by themselves. That kind of annoyed me.

Despite how interesting they were, there reasons for killing themselves in the first place weren't nearly as interesting as I thought they would be. They seem a little simplified. Paul's end up being the most interesting, and how he dealt with it was the kind of emotional punch I was hoping for.

Its still a good time dramedy, I just wish it pushed the envelope just a tad more and played a few less games.

cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

Robocop



Robocop-poster

Directed by: Jose Padilha
Written by: Nick Schenk
Cast: Michael K. Williams, Joel Kinnaman, Gary Oldman, Samuel L. Jackson, Michael Keaton, Abbie Cornish, Jackie Haley, Jay Baruchel, Jennifer Ehle, Marianne Jean-Baptiste
Studio: MGM
Genre: Action, Crime, Science-Fiction
Official Site:
Plot: Police officer Alex Murphy is killed in a hit and is resurrected as a cyborg drone.

Review:

AMC's The Killing was a giant disappointment, but if it did anything, it was introduce me to one of its stars, Joel Kinnaman, an actor I expect to see a lot more of. I think he more or less rocks it as Murphy, hot-shot before the suit, tragic and sad in it. Walking into it, if there was anything tht was going to make this movie seem more than just a retread of the 80s sci-fi classic, it was going to be him.

The other strength is that drone warfare is kind of a big deal right now. It's a big talking point and a pretty justified fear. They manipulate this through the cold (but humorful) CEO played by Michael Keaton and the fear-mongering news man played by Samuel L. Jackson. Both are a lot of fun to watch and are great satires of real life counters.

There is just still so much to the concept that they could have committed. The man in the machine vs the machine duality thing was just as good as the original. If you are going to replace the crime and dystopia of the first with drone warfare kind of stuff you can't skimp on it. At certain point, it just becomes an action movie about a man trying to get home, free and clear.

Robocop remake was valiant effort but it couldn't spin the ideas of the original enough to walk on its own.

Other reviews of this film: darqjade (6/10) , oscarxp25 (2/10) > Display all
cerealkiller182 posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: 3 months ago

Ping Pong Summer



Posternot_available

Directed by: Michael Tully
Written by: Michael Tully
Cast: Susan Sarandon, Lea Thompson, Amy Sedaris, Judah Friedlander
Studio: Millenium Entertainment
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: A city kid moves to the beach with his family for the summer

Review:

A ridiculously 80s movie about a hip-hop loving, wannabe breakdancing kid, who I shit you not is named Rad (technically Radford). He makes quick friends of an equally socially awkward black kid named Teddy, who acts like no one likes hip hop but them 2, as well as the sugar junkie local hottie. He also makes quick enemies of the sweater clad yuppie bad guy and his hetero-lifemate sidekick/hypeman. It would be a spoof if was at all funny.

Casting some first timers in the lead roles definitely does not pan out for director Michael Tully. The kids are just too inexperienced and too awkward on screen to root for.

The movie is really only good for a few oddball performances from some of the adults. Susan Sarandon plays the local cat-lady (so to speak). Everyone's scared of her and she revels in it. Meanwhile, Lea Thompson and John Hannah play a couple of likable sitcom parents.

I probably have a hard time appreciating this flick because I was born in 1986. My childhood years were in the 90s and my formative ones were in the 2000s. This movie just holds no nostalgia for me.

Tee-ads-mfc2 JoBlo.com Arrow in the Head Movie Hotties JoBlo Videos