Watch the intro video!
Image_7b9dbc2f
September 2014
SMTWTFS
31123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
2829301234

Age
42

Sex
Male

Relationship Status
Married

Location
Not selected (USA)

Work/School
Designer/Movie lover

Links
Homepage
Facebook

Chat
Yahoo! Messenger: bearsmovies


64 friends > See all
What's this?

Fan of 0 items > See all
Ben Hur
#1 Movie of All-Time
Star Wars
#1 Sci-Fi
Halloween (Original)
#1 Horror
Water Ship Down
#1 Animated
LOTR Return of the King
#1 Fantasy
... View the rest.
Bearsmovies
Offline
So was it just me or was Super 8 really good?????
TOTAL POSTS
394 Posts
Senior Schmoe
View all reviews
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 4 years ago

Fantastic Mr. Fox



Fantastic-mrfox-poster2

Directed by: Wes Anderson
Written by: Wes Anderson, Noah Baumbach
Cast: George Clooney, Jason Schwartzman, Meryl Streep, Bill Murray, Wally Wolodarsky, Michael Gambon, Helen McCrory, Wes Anderson, Eric Anderson, Jarvis Cocker
Studio: Fox
Genre: Animation
Official Site: www.fantasticmrfoxmovie.com
Plot: After a life of crime, Mr Fox promises his wife he will settle down. Can he hold to his word or is instinct to strong?

Review:

This was a great film. Great characters and dialogue, it all worked great together. My whole family enjoyed this film and has watched it several times since we saw it. It is just a great film, the interaction between Fox and Badger was awesome. It is truly a family friendly movie. I even liked the sound track.

Other reviews of this film: VitamanMan8 (9/10) , BakeTheMooCow (9/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 4 years ago

Kick-Ass



Kickass-poster-quad5

Directed by: Matthew Vaughn
Written by: Jane Goldman, Matthew Vaughn
Cast: Nicolas Cage, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Clark Duke, Chloe Moretz
Studio: Lionsgate
Genre: Action, Superhero
Official Site: www.kickass-themovie.com
Plot: In a world full of crime someone has to step up for the little people. Someone has to become the super hero. Without super powers just how easy is that?

Review:

The film was slow I wanted it move faster. The acting was just not there. I went in with minimal expectations, and should have had them even lower. The only member of the cast that was worth the money was "Hit Girl". She was great, great action scenes and dialogue, other than that, just not worth it.

Other reviews of this film: Skellington (5/10) , Rogue428 (7/10) > Display all
ElderPredator
ElderPredator at 01:57 PM Jun 30

?

jekupka
jekupka at 10:04 PM Jun 30

uhhh...?

Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 4 years ago

Grown Ups



Grown-ups-poster1

Directed by: Dennis Dugan
Written by: Tim Herlihy, Adam Sandler, Fred Wolf
Cast: Adam Sandler, Salma Hayek, Steve Buscemi, Kevin James, Maria Bello, Jamie Chung, Rob Schneider, Dave Spade, Chris Rock, Maya Rudolph, Gary Busey, Norm McDonald, Tim Meadows, Colin Quinn
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: www.grownups-movie.com
Plot: A group of friends get together after the coach of there High School Basketball team pass's.

Review:

If you have kids and friends from High School, you should see this film. I have not been a big fan of Adam Sandler, but in this he works. All of them work its like they all really went to school together. the Cast chemistry was great. Lots of laughs and a little bit of adult humor. I enjoyed it and would see it again.

Other reviews of this film: Forrestgump1 (8/10) , ddgalley (3/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 6 years ago

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull



2008-indiana_jones_and_the_kingdom_of_the_crystal_skull-1

Directed by: Steven Spielberg
Written by: Jeff Nathanson
Cast: Harrison Ford, Shia LaBeouf, Cate Blanchett, John Hurt, Ray Winstone
Studio: Paramount Pictures
Genre: Action, Adventure
Official Site: www.indianajones.com
Plot: Ok what do you get when George Lucas and Steven Spielberg team up to make a movie? Well 10 years ago you would get a box office hit. For some reason the kings of the summer block buster just went blank. About 20 minutes in to this installment of the Indiana Jones story, I could see it was going no where fast. There are 3 rules for a good Indiana Jones film. First you must fight the Nazi’s, second you must search for a biblical artifact, and last but not least NO SIDE KICK’s. Its simple, follow these rules and you will be fine. Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom broke these rules and failed. You must follow the rules.

Review:

The story starts off slow and just never can pick up speed. In the beginning Dr Jones talks about some long time friends that have never been talked about in any of the other films. One of them is a college professor that Dr Jones looked up to. Funny he never mentioned him in the past. Now I must warn you there are spoilers that follow so be warned….

This time our Archeologist / adventurer is searching for the Crystal Skull, and who ever finds it and returns it will gain all the power of the city of gold. His adventure will lead him to South America and across the globe, all while being chased by the Russians who want it for there own purposes. This skull is no ordinary skull, its alien, and its crystal. Yes I said alien, and I am not talking illegal immigrant. Sorry I watched the film and had a hard time following it. Imagine Dr Jones trying to find an alien skull, being chased by the Russians, all while dragging along a new side kick it just made no sense. If you must see it then wait until it out on DVD and watch it. Trust me, save the theater ticket money and see something else.

Other reviews of this film: KcMsterpce (3/10) , Crazy Dud (5/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 6 years ago

Iron Man



2008-iron_man-1

Directed by: Jon Favreau
Written by: Arthur Marcum, Matthew Hollaway
Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Terrence Howard, Jeff Bridges, Gwyneth Paltrow
Studio: Paramount
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.ironmanmovie.com
Plot: Billionarie Tony Stark, owner of the worlds largest weapons manufacuring company now wants to make the ultimate weapon. A suite like no other.Meet Iron Man.

Review:

This movie started of hot and just kept going. It had the action needed to keep you glued to the screen. Downey was great as the arogant womenizing Tony Stark. There were parts of the movie where I just hated him for being so rich (and getting all the hot girls) then he would put on the suit and I'm cheering him on. I enjoyed the interaction between Stark and Potts (Downey and Powltrow). The film is well layed out and the director even gets a cameo. Must be nice. All in all this one is one of the top comic book movies and deservingly so. Its worth the time and the money.

Other reviews of this film: judgement tay (9/10) , KcMsterpce (6/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 7 years ago

The Simpsons Movie



2007-simpsons_movie-1

Directed by: David Silverman
Written by: Various
Cast: (voices) Dan Castellaneta, Julie Kavner, Nancy Cartwright, Yeardley Smith, Hank Azaria, Harry Shearer
Studio: Fox
Genre: Animation
Official Site: www.simpsonsmovie.com
Plot: Ok “The Simpson’s Movie” is finally in theaters and it’s great. This time Homer screws up so bad he almost destroys Springfield, and loses his son. Can the family rally behind him to survive?

Review:

The entire cast is here in all there glory. Bigger and better than ever, if you are a fan then this is a must see. I will also say it is a little more adult oriented in the theater than on the TV. The film starts off with one of the funniest Simpson’s opening I have ever seen and never lets up with the laughs. I was in pain about half way through and that’s only 45 minutes, great story and all around pure Simpson’s fun. Like I said a must see for all the true Simpson’s fans.

Other reviews of this film: Kevin Smith fan (8/10) , tbondrage99 (8/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: about 7 years ago

Transformers



2007-transformers-1

Directed by: Michael Bay
Written by: Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman
Cast: Shia LaBeouf, Tyrese Gibson, Josh Duhamel, Anthony Anderson, Rachael Taylor, Megan Fox, John Turturro, Jon Voight
Studio: Dreamworks
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.transformersmovie.com
Plot: You’re a nerdy high school student, who has a crush on the hottest chick in school; unfortunately no one knows you exist. Now imagine this guy buys a piece of junk Camaro that happens to be a Transformer. From there the story just unfolds in great visual detail.

Review:

This is a big special effects movie, and if you go into it expecting more, well to bad. It will not get any awards for acting, directing, or screenplay, but it was well worth the $10 ticket price. This movie was hyped-up for about a year, before it hit theaters. All I could think about was please just be GOOD, that’s it. Not only did it live up to the hype, it out did it. The story was original, not the same old battle for energon or getting the leadership matrix as in the old ones. I even liked the look of the robots, I was ok with Megatron as a jet and not a gun. The action was plentiful and the so were the laugh’s. It was all around a great movie. Sure there could have been more character development, but that would have taken from the actual robots, that’s what the movie was about, Transformers. For someone that grew up playing with these things and watching the cartoons, this is exactly what I wanted to see, giant robots fighting all around the place. For any fan of the original Transformers this is well worth it, and anyone with an open mind will also love it. So check it out……

Other reviews of this film: BlueGoggles (8/10) , Reckoner (6/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Apocalypto



2006-apocalypto-1

Directed by: Mel Gibson
Written by: Mel Gibson, Farhad Safinia
Cast: TBA
Studio: Walt Disney
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.apocalypto.com
Plot: As the Mayan world collapses in on itself, we find a young man trying to remove his family from harms way.

Review:

Director Mel Gibson brings us an incredibly visual and compelling story of love, family, life, and survival. Apocalypto is a bit gory, but it also has action, heart and wisdom all of which out weight the blood shed. The reviews for this film had me hyped to see “Saw” style gore, and I was very happily disappointed, what I did see was a gorgeous culture of vividly colorful costumes, tattoos, and rituals. All together it gives us a looking glass into the Mayan world, from its class system, its warfare, to its religious traditions. The whole story is played out in Mayan with English subtitles, and don’t be alarmed, they are very easy to stay with and the majority of the time you are just watching the action unfold. All in all this a great film with a timeless story.

Other reviews of this film: crazyharry (8/10) , KcMsterpce (8/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Spider-Man 3



2007-spider_man3-1

Directed by: Sam Raimi
Written by: Michael Chabon
Cast: Tobey Maguire, Kirsten Dunst, James Franco, Thomas Haden Church, Topher Grace, Bryce Dallas Howard, Dylan Baker, Elizabeth Banks
Studio: Sony/Columbia
Genre: Action, Comic Book
Official Site: spiderman.sonypictures.com
Plot: With a new bad guys and Spidey’s new suit, what could go wrong? Well you do need a little more than that, after 2 great movies (Some say 2 was better than 1) you have to follow up with some thing big. “Spiderman 3” was not it

Review:

I mean you got Venom, Sandman, and Goblin, all fighting to destroy Spidey, what more could you need. How about a story? In Spiderman 2 you got a compelling story of the hardship of being a hero. At one point I felt sorry for him and really wanted to help him. This time you just get the hero fighting the bad guy. There is nothing to draw compassion from. It’s just a big fight. Unfortunately it fall’s short of the scale set by its predecessors. In general it was an entertaining movie, but rated along side the other Spiderman films this one was well below par.

Other reviews of this film: bloodythoughts (0/10) , Monotreme (5/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End



2007-pirates_of_the_caribbean_at_worlds_end-1

Directed by: Gore Verbinski
Written by: Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio
Cast: Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, Keira Knightley, Stellan Skarsgard, Jack Davenport, Chow Yun-Fat
Studio: Walt Disney
Genre: Adventure
Official Site: pirates.movies.com
Plot: Ok, I saw “Pirates of the Caribbean 3” over the weekend, and I am sorry to say was disappointed. Ok remember Jack is dead, Lord Beckett has the chest, and Capt’n Barbossa is back from the dead. Well this next one couldn’t be that confusing…. Right? Well if you think that, you would be wrong. First off Lord Beckett uses the Chest to rule the ocean, while the crew of the Black Pearl search’s for a way to bring Jack back from the dead with the help of Capt’n Barbossa, (Who was brought back from the dead by a witch).

Review:

From there the film just got all twisted-up in its own story. At almost 3 hours, the movie had fighting off sleep at times and then wanting to press rewind on the other, as soon as you realized the movie had made a right turn, you are already 4 intersections behind. I wanted to see more of Jack, he is the reason we watched part 2, and I thought Chow Yun-Fat’s role would be greater. All in all there were too many unanswered questions, and the fear of a 4th.

Other reviews of this film: Reckoner (6/10) , Monotreme (6/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Pan's Labyrinth



2006-pans_labyrinth-1

Directed by: Guillermo del Toro
Written by: Guillermo del Toro
Cast: Álex Angulo, Ivana Baquero, Roger Casamajor
Studio: PictureHouse
Genre: Fantasy
Official Site: www.panslabyrinth.com
Plot: Ok its 1944 and you are in war torn Spain with your Mother and step Father, whom is a captain in the Spanish Army. All around you is death and destruction, so for a young girl, who has not love or affection for her NEW step father, you must escape his world. Welcome to the Labyrinth of the Faun, or “Pan’s Labyrinth”.

Review:

Guillermo del Toro’s screenplay is brought to the big screen by none other than Del Toro himself. When a great writer, directs his own screenplay the out come is usually incredible, and this is no exception, great writing and directing lead to a great visually pleasing film. With a normal cast of characters, the main high point of the film is its story. Throughout this movie I felt captivated by the amazing imagery and story telling, it contrasted the beautiful and sometimes eerie world of the Labyrinth with the purely sadistic and terrifying world of Captain Vidal. I know there are some people out there that feel the blood and brutality were not necessary, well I disagree, it helps us differentiate the real from the fantasy. All in all this is a truly visual film, not for the young ones, but I recommend it for any fan of great movies.

Other reviews of this film: MrScissorhands (9/10) , dman476 (6/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

The Last King of Scotland



2006-last_king_of_scotland-1

Directed by: Kevin Macdonald
Written by: Peter Morgan, Jeremy Brock
Cast: Forest Whitaker, James McAvoy, Kerry Washington, Gillian Anderson
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Genre: Drama
Official Site:
Plot: Ok every one knows who Idi Amin is….Right? Now what about Uganda? Well “The Last King of Scotland” will explain both in great detail and clarity, it’s like a documentary movie on the life of General/President Idi Amin of Uganda.

Review:

I like the way they tie a fictional character in to the story to give you something to connect with. It’s the “Titanic” style, a true story with fictional characters for personal reference. As in “Titanic” it worked well in this film also, James McAvoy who played Dr. Garrigan the personal physician to the president, was very believable. He great and he made you think he was part of the history. Director Kevin Macdonald in his first big directing position really showed his ability to capture the true feel of a war torn country blinded by its Leader. The true actor in this film is Forest Whitaker, who I think is a great actor in general just never got the role that showed his talent at its best until now. He comes to life as Idi Amin and makes you wonder if he too is as paranoid as the general. This film will definitely keep you there the whole time and is worth every minute of it, and at 2 hour that’s not bad. Of course to show the life of Idi Amin you need too show violence and that will get you an R rating, and they do show violence. Needless to say it was worth it and I would recommend to any one interested in seeing a really good movie.

Other reviews of this film: Vong (0/10) , disco162 (8/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Beerfest



2006-beerfest-1

Directed by: Jay Chandrasekhar
Written by: Broken Lizard
Cast: Jay Chandrasekhar, Kevin Heffernan, Steve Lemme, Paul Soter, Erik Stolhanske
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Comedy
Official Site: beerfestmovie.com
Plot: While in Germany to bury there father, the Wolfhaus brothers discover an underground beer drinking contest considered to be the World Cup of bear drinking, during Oktoberfest. Finding that there are no Americans in the contest they set on a journey to start the first American team in Beerfest.

Review:

Writer, director Jay Chandrasekhar, and writer Kevin Heffernan brings us a truly hilarious film on the world of drinking games. With a huge cast including Jay Chandrasekhar and Kevin Heffernan as Barry and Landfill, the quarters scene in the bar, and landfill’s attempt to save himself from drowning are classic. Also Cloris Leachman as Gam Gam possible the best grandmother ever, and Jurgen Prochnow as Wolfgang von Wolfhaus, and the infamous “Das Boot”. This movie will have you rolling on the floor and grabbing you sides in pain. I loved the pure comedy of it, no moments of drama or suspence, it is funny thru and thru. With an R rating for nudity and language, and a run time of 110 minutes, this is not for the little ones. So set back grab a beer and enjoy.

Other reviews of this film: xwing16 (8/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Children of Men



2006-children_of_men-1

Directed by: Alfonso Cuaron
Written by: Alfonso Cuaron, David Arata, Timothy Sexton
Cast: Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, Charlie Hunnam, Michael Caine, Chiwetel Ejiofor
Studio: Universal Pictures
Genre: Thriller
Official Site: www.childrenofmen.net
Plot: Imagine a world in total chaos, where every country has fallen to rebels; imagine having a child in that world. Now imagine that child being the first person born on earth in 18 years. Women have been infertile for 18 years and the mankind is on the verge of extinction, when a refuge becomes pregnant and every faction on earth wants her for there own political benefit. It’s up to one man Theo Faron (Clive Owen) to get her to safety and hopefully save mankind.

Review:

. Writer director Alonso Cuaron has put together a visually stimulating and sometimes unnerving view of the future of mankind. The film started off kind of slow, taking a little too long to explain the characters and the situations, Clive Owens role was outstanding as usual, but I had a hard time connecting with some of the other characters. I did like the character Kee (Claire-Hope Ashitey) as the pregnant refuge I thought she was very believable. Her connection with Theo worked very well and added to movie. Over all the film was good, with well planed scenes to keep the audience involved in this over all bleak look of the future. I would recommend it just for the ideology of it, at least watch it once.

Other reviews of this film: Monotreme (10/10) , sAtAn666 (7/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

TMNT



2007-tmnt-1

Directed by: Kevin Munroe
Written by: Kevin Munroe
Cast: (voices) Quinton Flynn
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Animation
Official Site: www.tmnt.com
Plot: Well last weekend I saw “TMNT” and it rocked. This time the turtles are back and the biggest fight they have is with each other. With the help of Amy and Casey Jones, let’s see if the turtles can put there differences aside to fight a new enemy from the past?

Review:

Director Kevin Munroe and the creators of the turtles, Kevin Eastman, and Peter Laird bring us the continuing story of 4 young mutated turtles and there fight to save mankind. This film has a lot to offer, humor for both kids and adults, great fight scenes for the action crazy, and a story of compassion and brotherhood. I really enjoyed it as did my kids from age 7 to 16. The CGI work was great, not like the puppet movie of the early 90’s. It looked as close to real as a cartoon could get while still being a cartoon. The fight scene on the roof in the rain was great, very well done. The only negative thing I could say about it is the time it took it to set up the big battle; it seamed to consume the entire show. Other than that it was a great way to introduce new fans to the turtles while keeping the original fans as well. It is rated PG and runs about 87 minutes, perfect for the younger ones, and also entertaining for adults. All in all a very good NEW start for the hero’s in a half shell…….

Other reviews of this film: Demanak (8/10) , KcMsterpce (6/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Idiocracy



2006-idiocracy-1

Directed by: Mike Judge
Written by: Mike Judge, Etan Cohen
Cast: Luke Wilson, Maya Rudolph, Dax Shepard, Stephen Root
Studio: Fox
Genre: Comedy
Official Site:
Plot: Meet Joe Bauers (Luke Wilson) an average American soldier how is chosen for a top secret mission, who along with a female civilian (Maya Rudolph) are to be frozen for one year in order to test human hibernation. Unfortunately things go horribly aerie and the couple are finally awoken to a world so incredibly dumbed down that Joe is now the smartest man EVER, and must solve all the worlds’ problems.

Review:

From the director of “Office Space” Mike Judge brings us this very funny knock at the future of mankind. I like the whole “Every thing revolves around sex” idea it just added to the pure idiocracy of this film. I liked it, it was funny and original, and it had a bite of truth to it. I especially liked President Camacho (Terry Crews) that’s not his Latino name that’s his wrestling name, he was great. The film kept me there and kept me laughing the whole time.

Other reviews of this film: dbldn11 (8/10) , tbondrage99 (8/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

300



2007-300-1

Directed by: Zack Snyder
Written by: Zack Snyder, Michael Gordon, Kurt Johnstad
Cast: Gerard Butler, Lena Headey, David Wenham, Vincent Regan, Rodrigo Santoro, Dominic West
Studio: Warner Bros
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.300themovie.com
Plot: What happens when 300 of the best warriors in the world go up against an army of one million slave soldiers? You get a great story, that makes for a great movie and the biggest March box-office opening ever. It’s was called the battle of Thermopylae, and it took place in 480 BC between 300 of King Leonidas Spartans, and armies of the God King Xerxes of the Persian Empire, where one fought for greed and the other fought for freedom and honor.

Review:

Director Zach Snyder brings Frank Millers graphic novel to incredible life on the big screen. This was a purely visual movie, like a comic book in live action. The battle scenes are very realistic and the cinematography is outstanding. The battles were great, no close up flash fighting so you could not make out detail, it was all right there for, and some time even slow motion to really get the point across. I even liked the acting, it was by no means over the top, but it worked well with the scheme of the movie. If I had to find thing to quibble about, and don’t get me wrong, it was hard to find that one thing; it would be the monsters in the Persian army. Could I have done with out them? No. Like I said the movie moved from scene to scene perfectly, if I had to find something that was it. Even the soundtrack was good; it worked well with the whole warrior scheme of things. All in all it was a delight to set thru, and visually pleasing to watch, and I will see it again.

Other reviews of this film: bigred760 (9/10) , movieme07 (10/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Flags of our Fathers



2006-flags_of_our_fathers-1

Directed by: Clint Eastwood
Written by: Paul Haggis
Cast: Ryan Phillippe, Jesse Bradford, Adam Beach, Paul Walker, Jamie Bell, Barry Pepper, John Benjamin Hickey
Studio: Paramount
Genre: Drama
Official Site: www.flagsofourfathers.com
Plot: Every one has seen the famous Flag raising photo from Iwo Jima, but do you know the story of the six men that raised that flag and there lives after the war? This is the story of those six men and the militaries effort to promote the new found Hero’s.

Review:

Director Clint Eastwood brings us an incredibly visual movie of the battle of Iwo Jima; unfortunately he mixes in a little too much war bond promotion and life on the mainland. The film does a lot of jumping around, and never stayed in one time period long enough to keep the emotion going. After a while I began to ask my self “Is this before the battle or after?” I think it overshadowed the real story of those six men and there battle both at home and on Iwo Jima. The acting was average as in nothing over the top or spectacular; it worked with the movie. Ryan Phillippe, Jesse Bradford, and Adam Beach play the three survivors of the battle that are paraded around the country in order to sell War Bonds. Of course with the graphic nature of War this film gets an R rating and with a story this complex at only 132 minutes, it falls short of Epic status.

Other reviews of this film: Nived (7/10) , RiverStyx (5/10) > Display all
Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

Flyboys



2006-flyboys-1

Directed by: Tony Bill
Written by: Blake Evans
Cast: James Franco, Martin Henderson, Jean Reno, Jennifer Decker, David Ellison, Mac McDonald, Tchéky Karyo, Ian Rose
Studio: MGM
Genre: Action
Official Site: www.flyboysthemovie.com
Plot: In 1916 shortly after the start of the Great War, prior to the American involvement, US citizens who wanted to fight joined a special French fighter squadron, The Lafayette Escadrille, and became the countries first fighter pilots.

Review:

When I first saw previews for this film back last year, I was anxious to say the least. As you know I love War movies, and any chance I can get to see a dog fight between French bi-planes and German Tri-planes with out having to be there is great. Director Tony Bill does not have a lot under his belt, as far as movie-cred goes, nor does Phil Sears, and Blake Evans, until now. I liked it and would have enjoyed it in the theater had I ever made the time go; this one will give them a little up’s in the movie locker room. It had a few little flaws nothing that I could not over look in order to like this film. The acting was on average, with James Franco as Blaine Rawlings, Abdul Salis as Eugene Skinner, and Jean Reno as Captain Thenault, you get exactly what you need to complete this film, nothing over the top. If you like War movies for the sheer impact of seeing a battle without being there, and a good story line, then this one is not too bad.

Bearsmovies posted a MOVIE REVIEW item: over 7 years ago

The Illusionist



2006-illusion-1

Directed by: Neil Burger
Written by: Neil Burger
Cast: Edward Norton, Paul Giamatti, Jessica Biel, Rufus Sewell, Eddie Marsan
Studio: Yari Film Group
Genre: Mystery
Official Site: www.theillusionist.com
Plot: Writer director Neil Burger brings us a very convincing story of 1900’s Vienna, Austria and the rise of one Eisenheim the Illusionist played by the ever talented Ed Norton with slight of hand and pure trickery he will keep you guessing until the very end. The game is on when he tries to trick the Prince, and winds up falling for his lover. In comes Paul Giamatti as Chief Uhl, who is determined to stop Eisenheim.

Review:

This is a truly beautiful film with a little darkness all rolled together to make a very magical movie. From the start of this film I was mesmerized by the scenery and the truly amazing style of the world it made. At times it was colorful and fascinating, and then would get dark and gloomy. It kept me entertained and wondering what was real...

Other reviews of this film: JoeChar4321 (10/10) , rockyjr (7/10) > Display all
Tee-ads-mfc2 JoBlo.com Arrow in the Head Movie Hotties JoBlo Videos